All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 4th, '11, 17:41 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Nov 8th, '10, 10:45
Posts: 62
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Wickham, WA
I have searched and searched, so, please correct me if I am wrong. I need advice. My pH is reading
6.0. It could be lower (don't have low reading tester). Barra like the pH to be around 7.6. In 1000lt
FT I have added 200gm bicarb with no change and have had 2.5kg of shellgrit immersed for 3 weeks also with no change in reading. I thought I read that these 2 additions would help to raise pH. Any advice on how to raise pH would be great.

NH4 @o.0
NO2 0
NO3 0

Thanks :wave:


Top
 Profile  
 
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 4th, '11, 17:44 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
Get some "hydrated lime"... brickies lime... Calcium Hydroxide...

Or if you plants are starting to flower/fruit/seed... some Potassium BiCarbonate... sold as "EcoFungicide"...

Both are quite strong pH buffers.. so use sparingly... how big is your fish tank??

_________________
>

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 4th, '11, 17:49 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Nov 8th, '10, 10:45
Posts: 62
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Wickham, WA
It's a 1000lt fish tank. Plants not a problem, just growing water plants at the moment, to get through the Pilbara summer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 4th, '11, 18:43 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
A small palmful of slaked lime...is all you'll need to bring the pH back a bit.. safely, if you have fish...

Test a few hours later... and repeat if needed..

_________________
>

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 5th, '11, 16:04 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: May 13th, '09, 21:28
Posts: 2118
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Depends
Location: Southern River, Western Australia
Interesting shellgrit should correct the ph in 3 week. Where do you have the shellgrit?

_________________
What we do in life echoes in eternity.
My First System
My Second (smaller) System
My 3rd Future System - Expanding Now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 5th, '11, 17:04 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: Feb 27th, '11, 19:41
Posts: 968
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia
The shell grit needs to be in an area where it gets a lot of contact..

My own shell grit is in a Sand and Gravel filter[As the sand Layer] so it gets plenty of water contact..

Hope that helps..

The Lime I'm not to sure on.. .2kg for 1000lt might not be enough..[Only a guess.. let it take time..]
if the calcium has been depleted it might take a lot more to get it even..

But I do agree with it should be climbing slowly back up..
I think your shell grit might not be a flow area..

Juergen

_________________
Smack me if I say something Dumb..

I'm full of idea's..
That need to put into action..
One of those idea's is happening right now even If I think it is slight void of what It could be..

Can I have a Mulligan..

J


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 6th, '11, 06:31 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Nov 8th, '10, 10:45
Posts: 62
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Wickham, WA
I have the shellgrit in a pillow case on the botttom of the tank under the return pipes. Dont know what else to do with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 6th, '11, 07:19 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 2675
Images: 51
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Nope! I'm a machine.
Location: Dowerin, WA
Could the pillow case be stopping the shell grit from being more effective?

I used to have mine in a pair of stockings but now I just put it in the sump.

_________________
ArBe
My Home System
My Country Backyard


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 6th, '11, 11:25 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: Feb 27th, '11, 19:41
Posts: 968
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia
How about suspending a bucket of shell grit under the return pipe's..
The returning water might have a better chance to have full contact with the Grit..


Juergen..

_________________
Smack me if I say something Dumb..

I'm full of idea's..
That need to put into action..
One of those idea's is happening right now even If I think it is slight void of what It could be..

Can I have a Mulligan..

J


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pH too low
PostPosted: Dec 6th, '11, 11:54 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
Or just sprinkle the shellgrit through your grow beds...

_________________
>

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.527s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]