All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 13th, '12, 18:51 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Jun 27th, '10, 08:23
Posts: 148
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia
I was hoping to see pics or get some ideas on what I can do to get my pH levels back up. I currently have a large pvc pipe caps on each end. I have drilled 5mm all over it and filled it with shell grit. My pH is dropping still (getting closer to 6!) I have moved the pvc pipe closer to the pump in the expectation that there will be more water movement near it. However in the case this doesn't work, what other methods have people used with the shell grit to stabilise pH?

Thanks for ideas


Top
 Profile  
 
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 13th, '12, 18:56 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan 11th, '07, 14:20
Posts: 6433
Location: Perth
Gender: Female
Location: Jandakot
Shell grit in an onion bag in the fish tank where the water returns to the fish tank or bury them in the growbed under the media.

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum ... a&start=45 (Fayes system)
http://backyardfarming.com.au/phpbb3/vi ... f=24&t=119 (Fayes garden) https://www.facebook.com/Botanic.Obsession


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 13th, '12, 19:44 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Jun 27th, '10, 08:23
Posts: 148
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia
Faye, into a 500L GB, how much would you put and do you just place it in one corner or all over?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 13th, '12, 19:59 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan 11th, '07, 14:20
Posts: 6433
Location: Perth
Gender: Female
Location: Jandakot
If you had 3kg just spread it through the growbed and some in a stocking. Don't get hung up, on how to do it, as it breaks down until the pH is around 7.4.

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum ... a&start=45 (Fayes system)
http://backyardfarming.com.au/phpbb3/vi ... f=24&t=119 (Fayes garden) https://www.facebook.com/Botanic.Obsession


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 13th, '12, 20:15 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Jun 27th, '10, 08:23
Posts: 148
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia
As always...many thanks Faye. :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 02:42 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: May 27th, '11, 09:18
Posts: 130
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Canada, British Columbia, Van Isl
I prefer potassium bicarb to buffer PH. After running into potassium deficiency last year this was the only way to raise PH and get enough potassium to my plants especially if growing lots of flowering type plants.. 1 tablespoon to 1000L = .5 ph adj.. so add slow and watch your tests.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 05:19 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Aug 14th, '10, 03:55
Posts: 478
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Jar Head Clan
Location: Minnesota, USA
I am battling a high pH 8.6.

I've been using aquarium pH Down. Gave up on counting the drops I used to try and get it down.

Any suggestions for a 10 gallon fish tank and an 18 gallon grow bed?

_________________
Remodeled Kitchen System

Raspberry Pi

Strawberries in Minnesota

Sprouting Grains


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 05:30 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: May 27th, '11, 09:18
Posts: 130
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Canada, British Columbia, Van Isl
how old is the system.. tends to naturally drop over time as the plants use up some of the nitrates they create acids which over time drops the PH.. Lowing PH is much harder than raising it... I just had patients and waited for it to come down naturally as adding acids causes PH to bounce all over the place.. Also .. what kind of media are you using?? If its gravel take a sample out place on baking sheet and drop some vinegar on the samples if they fizz they are limestone and will have to be removed. Lime stone will never allow your system to fall within parameters


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 07:34 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Aug 14th, '10, 03:55
Posts: 478
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Jar Head Clan
Location: Minnesota, USA
I dismantled my old kitchen system. Soaked everything in bleached water then scrubbed the 10 gallon aqarium with a produce called Rust Out. It is a dilute acid to remover minerals on the glass. After that I rinsed the tank several times. Then I filled the 10 gallon tank with plain tap water from our well. Well water tested 8.4. I'm running th pump now more or less like a power head just circulating the water in the tank. Also the pump has a venturi on it drawing a lot of air into and bubbling into the outlet of water.

I'm going to take some water sample and my test kit into work and check it against an expensive pH meter.

Any way how would people use household products to lower the pH? I want to get under 7.0 before my strawberry plants come shortly.

_________________
Remodeled Kitchen System

Raspberry Pi

Strawberries in Minnesota

Sprouting Grains


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 07:44 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Apr 8th, '10, 23:51
Posts: 1968
Location: Fairport Harbor, OH
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: fairport harbor ohio-on lake erie
get an airstone in the water for a few hours before testing to give you a better idea of your ph

_________________
my basement system;
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8354


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 07:51 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
Get some Muriatic Acid... Hydrochloric acid...

_________________
>

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 11:37 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 27th, '11, 15:27
Posts: 603
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Bunbury, Australia
Had a good laugh the other day.

Bloke at work is worried about high pH in his new system. Beds full of hydrotron. Told him the forum I read recommends just leave it and it will adjust itself naturally in time. (thanks Mordyr - now I know why.)

Well he waited a day and it didn't move, so he chucked in some pretty strong HCL. pH came down, but the next day back up, so more HCL, went down stright away, back up the next day.

So he spoke with some lab guys at work and got hold of some phosphic acid. Chucked in some, that brought the pH down, but back up the next day, chucked in quite alot, that dropped the pH some. Came back next day - tank full of green sludge.

Apparently algea likes phosphor. Who would have known?

He agreed, he should probably have left his system alone! Hope the goldies are okay.

_________________
Regards

Dr Bee

http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=10254


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 12:27 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 13th, '11, 04:59
Posts: 612
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Mostly
Location: South Carolina, USA
Hey Bob! In all my aquariums (that I fill with my 8.0 pH well water) I use driftwood to bring the pH down and have in the past used peat in a pellet form that is available at most aquarium stores. Your well water, if its like mine, probably has a high carbonate hardness that buffers it against pH changes. Its kind of a long term thing using the driftwood and a little faster with the peat.

_________________
My goal in life is to be the kind of person my dog thinks I am.

Rhame


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 13:07 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
dr bee wrote:
Apparently algea likes phosphor. Who would have known?

Anyone who's been on the forum for while... and that's exactly one of the reason why I always say DON'T use pH Down... as it is often phosphoric acid... :wink:

_________________
>

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adjusting pH
PostPosted: Mar 14th, '12, 14:39 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 6th, '11, 12:06
Posts: 10794
Gender: Male
Location: Northern NSW
I have always said its best to leave PH alone. Ive seen systems run at really low levels and really high levels and flourish every time.

Messing about with PH more often sees it bouncing back just as per dr bee's example - which in turn kills fish. PH swing does more damage than leaving it at not so perfect levels.

my 2c

_________________
~2010/2011~
~2012/2013~
~2014~
~Backyard farming~


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: woolleybugger and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.543s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]