All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mar 28th, '15, 02:25 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Feb 23rd, '07, 03:48
Posts: 6715
Location: Lyonville Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Lyonville
Ronald Lao wrote:
To make the long story short, I didn't want any of the fishes I bought to die, so although my design called for 80 fishes to a tank, I put all 191 pieces into the tank. Hence my problem. :mrgreen:


You put 191 fish into a tank meant for 80 :shock:

That cant be what you meant :dontknow:

Confused.

_________________
Grow more with less


http://www.FishFarmers.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/fisharmers?ref=aymt_homepage_panel
http://hedgerowfarm.com.au/
https://www.facebook.com/HedgerowFarmVictoria/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Mar 28th, '15, 03:47 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Oct 16th, '14, 08:44
Posts: 1253
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Mostly
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Sounds like time to put an addition on the AP. Just to save the fishes of course. Good way to get the addition past the wife LOL

_________________
Floridafishin's System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 28th, '15, 04:53 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 16th, '15, 11:04
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Pasig City
floridafishin wrote:
Sounds like time to put an addition on the AP. Just to save the fishes of course. Good way to get the addition past the wife LOL

Hmmm.... Never thought to use that excuse before. Bzzt! Excuse filed!

@stuart
Yes. You heard correct. My neighbor originally told me if ever I bought any fingerlings he would like to get some from me for his pond. Turns out by the time I bought the fish he already filled his pond with koi. Well, I couldn't stand to kill off the extra fish. Just seemed wrong to let them die.... :cry:

_________________
************
Straw bio filter design


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 28th, '15, 06:42 
Offline

Joined: Mar 21st, '15, 16:15
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: ontario,canada
thats awesome i have so many little bit of straws from parrot toy making ! i can put it in my electric filter that currently have a sponge in it now ! or combine both !(got filter that came with fish tank second hand)

thanks for the idea !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 12th, '15, 16:21 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Oct 22nd, '15, 16:16
Posts: 134
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Gympie
half tempted to try this actually for moving bed setup


straws are 3mm wide 220mm long
= volume of 1.56cm3
1000 cm3 in 1L
1000/1.56 = 640 straws / L = $2 /L

straw should have 0.022 sqm outside surface area x 640 = *sigh* 14 sqm / L :S


no where near close to k1 500- 850 or mutag 3000

I am sure my math is wrong somewhere .. if total sqm is more then 28 and closer to what one would need let me know before I throw $5k away for bio balls / chips


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 12th, '15, 17:10 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: Nov 10th, '12, 09:27
Posts: 2667
Gender: Male
Are you human?: maybe
Location: Vic
if you have room, why not spend that money on bigger filters (water tank) and scoria?

$5k is a lot of money to spend on moving bed media.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 13th, '15, 02:00 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Oct 22nd, '15, 16:16
Posts: 134
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Gympie
any how ironically k1 worked out the same price / L as straws ....

I don't see how they can be that bad to I will just assume that I missed decimal point and could be 280sqm using inner and outer surface area's / L
it was $16 / 5000 straws = $2/L and k1 was $200 / 100L = same price but 3x better


the problem i have is filtering 90kl every hr 20~40kg feed a day , and the easiest way for me to do that is quickly cycling water though biofilter back into the FT using low head pumps @ 1500lpm +and only using a little bit of that water for growing
I was going to use RFF and MBF for solid separation to send to grow beds with an high head ~10m 150lpm return pump

Tanks are top of hill grow beds down the bottom land is a slope , unless I do reverse it , I just wanted the smells away from my bedroom :P

scoria will be used for grow beds where I was planing on letting the worms do their thing with solids that have passed through mineralization tank

I am planning on hunting down the recommended growbed flow/cycle rate today
and redesigning with tanks at the bottom ( which is safer for the fish but not so much on the missis nose)

how ever one thing I never thought about was the noise of the actual grow beds .. this could get interesting ..
as the neighbour already complained about the sound of my PR-ACO-003 65L/Min Electromagnetic Air Pump 35W ... and I consider it quite (used for keeping 100L hydroponic nutrients mixed ) , I must admit its only 20~30m away from their bedroom window , while grow beds location will be on the other side of the house but that's only an extra 6~10m away ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.124s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]