All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Mar 19th, '09, 07:24 

Hi all,

I'm very new to aquaponics and I just got done building my first system. My question is about the flood and drain cycle times. It seems obvious that you can have too long of a cycle time such that the roots of plants dry out. What about too often? Is there a cycle time that is too frequent?

My system currently can cycle every 2-4 minutes with some slight adjustment to the input rate. I just keep the pump on all of the time. I can adjust the rate slightly but if the fill rate is too slow then the 1" drain will be able to empty the water sufficient without creating a siphon. The higher flows will create a siphon but at the cost of having the system cycle often. Is this an issue?

Advertisement

PostPosted: Mar 19th, '09, 08:13 
Seriously, this cant be healthy.

Are you human?: YES at least mostly
How often is too often will depend on your media and the plants I guess. So long as the roots get enough air, things should be ok. Some media that holds water too well (like sand, coco coir, peat, etc) might just been too wet for many plants flooding and draining that often. As to if your set up is cycling too fast or often, well you might just have to wait and see how the plants do. It does seem pretty fast but who am I to say it won't work. Fastest I've cycled systems is usually between 15 and 30 minutes between the siphon kicking in.

How big is your system? Pump? Growbed? Fish tank?

Tower System
PeePonics

PostPosted: Mar 19th, '09, 09:08 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Location: Buckhead, The City of Atlanta, The State of Georgia, The Republic of the United States of America
trippy, I have the exact same situation in a new GB I set up. I put in some seeds, and they're sprouting with no problems. So it might be just fine :D

PostPosted: Mar 19th, '09, 09:12 

The system so far is made of what I believe is a 50 gallon grow bed and a 270 Gallon pond. I'm using expanded clay for the grow media.