All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 09:59 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
Hi I’m new to Ap. I’m going on my 6 week trying to cycle my system with some goldfish. My ph is 6.8, ammonia is 2.0 ppm, nitrite is 2.0 ppm and the nitrate is 80 ppm. But none of my goldfish is dead. I have a 150 gallon tank with about 25 goldfish. I need help ImageImageImageImageImage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 16:22 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '18, 23:55
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Location: UK
What's the problem?.It hasn't fully cycled yet?

_________________
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 19:50 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
Do I have to many goldfish in my system? I just wanted to make sure that I was on the right path. I was scared at first. I never did anything like this before lol not even a fish tank. I just want to be safe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 21:15 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '18, 23:55
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Dericw772 wrote:
Do I have to many goldfish in my system?

Depends on your grow bed.How big is it?

As far as cycling goes,it looks all right but don't let the Ammonia & Nitrite go any higher.Did you use the API test kit for your Nitrate? and did you shake the bottles properly? 30 seconds.
When you put the drops in from the first bottle & you don't shake the tube & then put the 2nd bottle,it will leave the Nitrate reading in the red colour (at least 80ppm) when it's much lower.

A quick opinion :) ,it's better to do a fishless cycle.

_________________
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 21:21 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
My media bed is 12 cm deep and basic chop and flip ibc system. I have green slime in the media bed. So I should take the goldfish out? Bc every time I go to feed them the ammonia level shuts up. Like I said I’m new to this and I’m just trying to grow my own healthy food


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 21:23 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
ImageImageImage what can I do help my plants?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 15th, '19, 23:46 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '18, 23:55
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Location: UK
There's probably deficiencies as it's a new system,but I think you have a pest problem.I can't see properly from the pics but I think I can see black dots all over the leaves.

And 12cm deep grow bed is too small,you'll need at least 25cm (it's recommended) deep for proper Ammonia - Nitrate conversion to take place with the amount of fish you have.And the roots take a lot of room.

Dericw772 wrote:
Bc every time I go to feed them the ammonia level shuts up.

I'm not sure what you mean,I assume you mean the Ammonia goes up?

_________________
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 16th, '19, 09:23 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
The bed is almost 2ft deep


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Mar 18th, '19, 04:11 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
Hello I do have pest. Caterpillar looking thing brown and green


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 2nd, '19, 06:59 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
Dericw772 wrote:
Hello I do have pest. Caterpillar looking thing brown and green


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 2nd, '19, 07:06 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
I think the system is fully cycled. I add 10 tilapia to the tank. ImageImageImageImageImage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 2nd, '19, 08:47 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 12th, '06, 07:56
Posts: 17752
Images: 4
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
That cucumber/squash looks happy.

_________________
www.havehomewilltravel.com
Life on the road


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 2nd, '19, 10:22 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
That’s a cantaloupe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 2nd, '19, 10:42 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mar 10th, '19, 06:39
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: United States
Do you think I need to add another grow bed bc I a little waste floating around on top tank


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Cycle system
PostPosted: Apr 3rd, '19, 07:49 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Aug 26th, '10, 07:17
Posts: 8799
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Oregon, USA
The corn looks like it has an iron deficiency. Depending on the system water pH and the type of iron you have, you may need to spray apply it (check the package to see if it mentions the application rate and any instructions).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.041s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]