All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Nitrification process
PostPosted: May 29th, '16, 10:45 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Hello everyone I am curious in a new system just starting the cycle process how long before you start to see nitrites rise up above 0? I have an amonnia level of 2ppm my water is above 75 degrees most the day and drops down to about 69 at night. I have roughly 2:1 grow bed to tank ratio. It's always a pleasure hearing from you guys.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: May 29th, '16, 10:56 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3292
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
It varies a lot, but it's generally up to a few weeks before nitrites appear, faster when it is warmer. If your ammonia is at 2ppm now, you don't need to add any more until it drops below 1ppm.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 29th, '16, 11:48 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Gunagulla wrote:
It varies a lot, but it's generally up to a few weeks before nitrites appear, faster when it is warmer. If your ammonia is at 2ppm now, you don't need to add any more until it drops below 1ppm.

Thanks a lot. I've have had my system up for about three weeks and haven't seen any spikes so I got a little nervous the nitrofication process hasn't begun.
I'll keep this thread updated with a time line of my cycling process.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 31st, '16, 04:18 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
I came out this morning and there was a slight change in my nitrites the blue in the api test kit got a little darker. it's still below .25 ppm but over 0 ppm. Hopefully I'll come out tomorrow and there will be another spike!


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 31st, '16, 13:58 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29th, '14, 13:15
Posts: 2065
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: mostly
Location: Perth, West Aust
in a new system it can often be a little while before the bacteria 'arrive' and begin to establish.

Bit late for you now but often adding some water from an existing AP or an aquarium will help to get the initial bacteria into the system from which a stable population will eventuate, this helps reduce the establishment time down a little bit for a completely new system.

but as you are now seeing the beginning signs it wont be too much longer for the population to build up to your systems requirements. As others have said elsewhere - it is a frustrating process of patience ;-)

_________________
.
Darren ( dlf_perth )

May the fish sh*t and the plants grow.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 31st, '16, 14:12 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 3rd, '16, 08:46
Posts: 976
Gender: Female
Are you human?: grudgingly
Location: Canberra, Australia
Also, you may never see much in the way of nitrites - there are two separate types of bacteria we're dealing with, the ones that convert ammonia to nitrites and the ones that convert nitrites to nitrates. If the second group get established fast, then they'll grab and convert nitrites as soon as they show up, and you'll never get a reading. When I was cycling my teeny test system, I got zero nitrite readings the whole way through. (I know my test kit works, though, because when I stuffed up and spiked my system by adding too much Charlie Carp, I got readings then all right!)

_________________
Redcap Builds A System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 04:09 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
My nitrites are super high off the charts high you guys think I should do a partial water change?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 07:51 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3292
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
Define "super high" - dilute your sample and remeasure. If you don't have any fish in the system, it isn't a problem.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 08:20 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Gunagulla wrote:
Define "super high" - dilute your sample and remeasure. If you don't have any fish in the system, it isn't a problem.

It's above 5ppm I do have some coy in there

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 08:52 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3292
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
They'll die if kept for long at that level, so yes several partial water changes over the next day or so would help, so long as the new water pH and temperature is close to the system water (and it has no added treatment chemicals), and also add salt to 1-2ppt (although I don't know how much koi can handle) after the first change, which you should do ASAP

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 09:47 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
I thought so I'll start my changes tomorrow do you know if RO filters filter out chlorine

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 10:15 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3292
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
Best way to remove the Cl is to aerate vigorously, I don't know if RO will do it, but doubt it. Whack some pool salt in there today if you aren't going to change water until tomorrow.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 11:47 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Gunagulla wrote:
Best way to remove the Cl is to aerate vigorously, I don't know if RO will do it, but doubt it. Whack some pool salt in there today if you aren't going to change water until tomorrow.

I have to go buy some tomorrow thanks for the info Epson salt is ok right

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 11:49 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Aug 30th, '15, 11:48
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Northern california, usa
i'd stop feeding the fish for a few days at least. I dont think you want more ammonia or nitrites building up until the nitrates start. At least that's what i'd do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '16, 11:55 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3292
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
No, do not pour in Epsom salts, use pool salt, pure Sodium Chloride.
And as Ace mentions above, if you haven't already stoppedf eeding the fish, do so, as feeding will make things worse.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Last edited by Gunagulla on Jun 4th, '16, 12:08, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.069s | 22 Queries | GZIP : Off ]