All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Apr 10th, '13, 12:56 

Are you human?: yes
Before I start out and buy all the equipment, I need to know what kind of fish are available to me, I'm interested in the rainbow trout I suppose, or maybe a Jade Perch.. I have cool conditions.
I live in Christchurch of New Zealand, and we have no aquaponics shops. we have 2 hydro, but they don't sell fish. I looked online and could not find anything useful... But I am new to this.
I've never seen a fish in a pet shop that wasn't a tropical neon something or other...
Any ideas?
Many thanks :lol: Kitty, and Co.

Advertisement

PostPosted: Apr 10th, '13, 13:03 
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.

Unfortunately... neither the Rainbow Trout... or Jade Perch... are allowed in NZ.... (and Jades wouldn't survive in Christchurch anyway)...

Sadly... NZ doesn't have any native fish species that grow to plate size....

The only allowable species in NZ... is Grass Carp... or Koi (not sure of the status of Koi)...

Fresh By Nature - Distributor of Aquaponic Systems and Products in NSW
http://www.freshbynature.com.au

PostPosted: Apr 10th, '13, 17:28 

That hardly makes sense? I used to catch rainbow trout as a kid... Native or not... where could i go to find ANY fish?

PostPosted: Aug 8th, '13, 16:32 

Are you human?: Yes
I currently have brown trout and koura (fresh water crayfish) which are perfectly legal but you are not allowed to sell either of them which suits me fine, you could try eel as well. We aren't as lucky as the neighbours across the ditch, they can just purchase their fish as fingerlings.

PostPosted: Aug 20th, '13, 11:10 

Are you human?: YES
The way I read the legislation

The only fish allowed without a license in New Zealand are:
any ornamental tropical fish or goldfish that has been bred and kept only in an artificial aquarium or artificial pond.