All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Mar 22nd, '17, 08:37 

Are you human?: yes
Hi everyone, newbie here hoping you can help.

I'm starting my first system and think I want to start with a Flood & Drain based on a small 75L/20g tank. From what I have read I want to stay away from the bell siphon for now (it seems like a hassle to set up and I worry I will design it wrong, it will fail to fire and I'll overflow my GB).

My question is this, if I want to go with a Flood & Drain set up on a timer, how do I know how often to have the pump on vs off? Also, I have read I should circulate the full volume of the fish tank within the hour. How can I accomplish this while still allowing some "dry" time in the GB and not leave my fish without any water.

Sorry if this a dumb question. I just haven't been able to find a formula in my research.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions you can provide!

Advertisement

PostPosted: Mar 22nd, '17, 15:05 

Are you human?: YES
With only a 20 gallon tank I'd consider running Constant Flood instead of Timed Flood and Drain that way you won't have large fluctuations of the fish tank volume which can stress the fish. The dry time in the grow bed is not as important as having oxygenated water flowing through the system.

How large is the grow bed attached to this tank?

PostPosted: Mar 22nd, '17, 16:55 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: mostly
agree with scotty above.... plus

(a) have the water level down below the media at least 2-3" if using Constant Flood
(b) use clay balls if you can since they wick moisture into the root zone better than rocks/gravel.
(c) add a ball valve at the bottom of the grow bed and simply drain it out to a bucket once a week.
will help do water changes and also gets rid of some of the excess crud.
and also helps keep good circulation in the grow bed.

if you want timer for other reasons then simply let water stay in grow bed and dont drain.