All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Oct 18th, '17, 16:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Oct 9th, '17, 16:53
Posts: 5
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phnom Penh
Hello,

I just started to first cycle my water using fish-less cycling by adding Ammonia drop from Dr. Tim.
It's a 20 gallons barrel with a 3 gallons expanded clay pebbles to be my filter for bacteria habitat.

It's been 2 weeks now. I've added 2ppm worth of Ammonia and it lower to 0.5ppm within 24 hours.
Yet, my nitrite is very high about 5ppm or more. The same goes for nitrate, 80ppm or more.

Should I keep adding ammonia daily to raise to 2ppm whenever it's down to 0.5ppm or lower?
What should I do now or just wait?

Note: I'm using API Fresh Water Kit to test my water.

Thanks!

_________________
:wave1: Roof-top Aquaponics noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Oct 18th, '17, 17:34 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Jul 26th, '17, 12:19
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Dianella, Perth, Western Australia
Hi Rithy
Welcome to the forum

It sounds like your system has both bacteria colonies present otherwise you wouldn’t be getting any nitrites and nitrates on your water tests. I would personally not introduce anymore ammonia to the system until the bacteria colonies have grown and caught up. Just keep on testing until your ammonia and nitrite level come down to 0 because that will indicate the system is “ fully cycled”. Then you can put in your fish
It is also useful to find out your water temperature and PH level as they are factors to when ammonia is toxic but that’s not an issue for you just yet as you have no fish in your fish tank yet.

Hope that helps you out mate

_________________
Mike Napoli
vonapster231@gmail.com
Dianella, Perth, Western Australia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 30th, '17, 11:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Oct 9th, '17, 16:53
Posts: 5
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phnom Penh
Hi Mike,

Thank you for your input. I've stopped adding any more Ammonia to prevent the nitrite spike. My nitrite is currently lower to 0.25ppm. Oddly enough, I've tested the nitrate, and it showed 0ppm. I never change the water.

Today, I added 2ppm ammonia to see if both ammonia and nitrite could process within 24 hours.

Tnank you!

_________________
:wave1: Roof-top Aquaponics noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 31st, '17, 11:46 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Oct 9th, '17, 16:53
Posts: 5
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phnom Penh
After added another 2ppm worth of Ammonia yesterday, today, I test it again today after 24 hours.

Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 80

It seems that my system is cycled. To make sure, I've added another 2ppm of Ammonia again and test tomorrow.
Hopefully, my system is already cycled.

What do I need to do next?
Do I need to change the water or just fill more water in as it's evaporated about half?

_________________
:wave1: Roof-top Aquaponics noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 31st, '17, 15:46 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Jul 26th, '17, 12:19
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Dianella, Perth, Western Australia
Yep just add more water to where you want, no need to do a any more water changes as it definitely sounds like your system is fully cycled!
Now all you need to do is add fish.....Your system is very small
Fish tank: 20 gallons = 75 litres
Growbed: 3 gallons = 11 litres

What fish were you thinking of putting in?

_________________
Mike Napoli
vonapster231@gmail.com
Dianella, Perth, Western Australia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 1st, '17, 12:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Oct 9th, '17, 16:53
Posts: 5
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phnom Penh
I'll add guppies as my fish tank is small, therefore guppies are the best suited.
Beside guppies, I think to add goldfish but I doubt my tank is too small for them.

_________________
:wave1: Roof-top Aquaponics noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.048s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]