All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Mar 2nd, '08, 14:37 

Hi all

I am a secondary Science teacher in western NSW who is relatively new to aquaponics. Last year I successfully applied for a small amount of funding to setup an aquaculture program.

I Purchased 2 x 1500 L oval water troughs and 2 fountain pumps. I also designed and made some biological filters using discarded drink bottle caps and 30 L buckets.
It was also important to purchase some water chemistry testing reagents. So currently we test for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH, KH, and GH.

We started out last year just breeding some yabbies and growing them out to an edible size by feeding them lupins. After reading a lot of post from backyard aquaponics and the new magazine me and my biology students have developed an interest in jade perch. Last year we grew one jade perch from fingerling size to 600 grams in 7 months as an experiment. The jade was feed commercial pellets. This year we have purchased 75 jade perch from livefish and currently have them growing in one of our tanks.

We are now ready to go from aquaculture to aquaponics. We have purchased an LED hydroponic grow light. These types of lights are relatively new and I was wondering if anyone has had any experience using these lights in aquaponics. The one I have purchased has 240 blue and red LEDs. It only consumes 13.5 watts of power which seems a lot cheaper to run that the 400 watt halogens. Unfortunately though it only covers 360 mm X 360mm of growing area. I plan just to try and grow one tomato plant using this LED hydroponic light.

The grow bed will consist of a 60 L flood and drain system using a bell siphon.
I am going to fill the bottom 100mm of the tub with drink bottle caps for improved drainage and then on top of that a layer of shade cloth to stop gravel falling through. The rest of the grow bed will consist of gravel with an emergency over flow at the top of the tub.