All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Feb 13th, '12, 09:52 

Are you human?: yes
Hi to all out there i am a newbie from Tasmania and were wondering what fish besides trout would i be able to raise in Northern Tasmania ?? or am i reduced to goldfish ? Would love any thoughts?
Mark

Advertisement

PostPosted: Feb 16th, '12, 21:25 
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Are you human?: Depends who you ask!
Hi,

I'm in NW Tas near Devonport and have set up a system at the school I teach at and have had nothing but trouble with trout (triploid rainbows). I lost my last one today when the water in the main pond reached 31 degrees despite being covered and protected from the sun. I'm not going back to trout. Over the last few days I've been in contact with Tim Farrell, senior fisheries officer at Inland Fisheries, to acquire a permit to go out and catch freshwater blackfish starter stock (about 20-30 fish) which has a far greater tolerance to warm water and are not worried about the cold during winter. In my system they need to be able to cope with water up to 31 degrees in Summer right down to 2-3 degrees in the winter. They can tolerate a lower DO level as well and grow to a descent size. The trick will be getting the wild caught ones to convert to aquaculture pellets. The fry won't be any trouble getting them to eat commercially prepared foods. Apparently Tim is trialling some blackfish down at New Norfolk at Fisheries right now to assess their suitability as an aquaculture subject. The great thing about the freshwater blackfish is that it is possible to breed them yourself making stock replacement a snap. Here is an article on the breeding of Gadopsis marmoratus: http://www.sardi.sa.gov.au/__data/asset ... _Basin.pdf .