All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Mar 19th, '15, 12:13 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Are you human?: I'm an EMT
So here is my first attempt at a successful set up. I'm not sure if photo posting is the same here as in other forums im with, but here it goes!!!

Specs:
-grow bed: I think it's 26" x18" x10". I don't have the numbers memorized.
-stock tank: a standard sized tote from Walmart.
-stand pipe: 3/4" base, attatched to a 3/4" to 1/2" smooth bore converter.
-down spout: all 3/4" based off of Rob Torselinies set up from Bigelow Brook Farms.
-pump: 200 gph "adjustable flow" (NOT).
-inlet: all 1/2" PVC
-clear hose: I believe it is 5/8, but I could be wrong.
-siphon: 2" with a 3/8" breather tube (again based off of Bigelow Brook Farms set up)
-media guard: smashed no. 10 can (starting to rust)
- media: washed pea gravel

I'm currently doing a fishless cycle of the system to get my nitrates up to par, before I put my plants in. My question that has been bothering me for a while now, is how long on average does it take a new system to cycle through completely? I've heard it can take anywhere from a week, to several weeks. I'm near the end of the first week, with a partial water change (ammonia levels were WAY off the charts), and no change in the ammonia levels (the water change took it down to about 5-6 ppm).

So any words of advice are welcome. And here are the pics if I can get them to work my first try :p

[url]http://s1328.photobucket.com/user/thsdragoon/media/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150318_213251352_zpsv5w2jca4.jpg.html?filters[user]=136495288&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0[/url]

[url]http://s1328.photobucket.com/user/thsdragoon/media/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150318_213314168_zps5mhqfeav.jpg.html?filters[user]=136495288&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=2[/url]

[url]http://s1328.photobucket.com/user/thsdragoon/media/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150318_213334681_zpsabmqrtq0.jpg.html?filters[user]=136495288&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=3[/url]