All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 49  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Apr 29th, '15, 01:03 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
You are covered with trees.

When I put my sump 5’ in the ground I was not thinking about how much head it would take to get that water to the fish tank.

It is taking more watts than I wanted but it should work out in the end.

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: May 3rd, '15, 11:35 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
We made some progress today. My boys dug and moved all the dirt that came out of the sump hole.
Attachment:
File comment: Before they started.
Dirt.JPG
Dirt.JPG [ 16.89 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]

Attachment:
20150502_150030.jpg
20150502_150030.jpg [ 85.54 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]

Attachment:
20150502_172226.jpg
20150502_172226.jpg [ 105.36 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]



I insulated the grow bed and started making the bell syphon.
Attachment:
20150502_150041.jpg
20150502_150041.jpg [ 128.06 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]

Attachment:
20150502_192627.jpg
20150502_192627.jpg [ 106.67 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]


Attachment:
File comment: Modeling my bell syphon from this one, Web4Deb
Bell.JPG
Bell.JPG [ 72.68 KiB | Viewed 2825 times ]

My grow bed is large 3’ x 20’ or 1 m x 6 m.
I am going to use a 1” ¼ stand pipe or 35 mm and a 3” or 76mm bell.
Will a 35 mm or 1” ¼ drain work with this setup or should I reduce it to ¾” 12.7mm.
I am just not sure the 35 mm or 1” ¼ drain will let the bell syphon work correctly.
I have a 150mm/ 6" gravel guard

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 4th, '15, 07:32 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
My grow bed is large 3’ x 20’ or 1 m x 6 m.

I bought 1” ½ stand pipe or 40 mm and a 3” or 76mm bell.

I have a 150mm/ 6" gravel guard

I went with 1” ½ / 40 mm stand pipe and the 3”/76 mm Bell to keep it 2 to one ratio.

I saw where someone else used this big pipe for the stand pipe and bell syphon hopefully mine will work ok.

Anyone see any issue with using this big stand pipe and Bell pipe?

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 10th, '15, 12:18 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
We made some progress today. I had PVC 2 x 6 that we used for raised beds. My oldest boy took all these beds apart and we use them.

I finished insulating the GB.

Attachment:
20150509_132658.jpg
20150509_132658.jpg [ 52.68 KiB | Viewed 2785 times ]


we installed the pond liner.

Attachment:
20150509_144924.jpg
20150509_144924.jpg [ 39.63 KiB | Viewed 2785 times ]


The folds turned out pretty well for my first time.

Attachment:
20150509_163002.jpg
20150509_163002.jpg [ 58.54 KiB | Viewed 2785 times ]


We filled it with washed expanded slate.
Attachment:
20150509_201631.jpg
20150509_201631.jpg [ 61.46 KiB | Viewed 2785 times ]


Still a couple more things to do to get to a fishless cycle. but we are very close.

Attachment:
20150509_201649.jpg
20150509_201649.jpg [ 65.25 KiB | Viewed 2785 times ]

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 10th, '15, 12:40 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Apr 7th, '13, 20:30
Posts: 1506
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yup
Location: Perth hills.
Hiya Mark, well done to the boys for moving all that dirt and being actively involved with the build. :thumbright:
I don't have a gb as large as yours and don't use a bell but being such a large gb the issue I see is that a large amount of water is going to travel a large distance to drain thru the one drain. Generally the drain needs to be larger than the supply. Personally I'd have put more than one drain in a bed that size. How have you put holes in the media guard?
Perhaps someone with a large bed can give some input? :dontknow:

_________________
Skeg In The Hills.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 10th, '15, 21:14 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
Thanks the boys have worked very hard on this project. It would have taken much longer without their help. They are excited to get it up and running and they have a feeling of accomplishment. This is good as you can’t tell someone how to get that feeling you must experience it.

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 10th, '15, 22:27 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Jul 6th, '14, 20:25
Posts: 3841
Location: 2.2 kilometers up, NM, USA
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Series of particles
Location: Sapello, New Mexico USA
very well done indeed

_________________
:wave1: Brian's AP
:dontknow: I don't understand all I know about this :dontknow:
Specs: 2600 gallon (347.56cf) Masonry fish pond. 44cf GBs. 200 gal (26.7cf) ST. 15 gal (2cf) RFF. 50 gal (6.7cf) biofilter. Brook trout and Comets.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 11th, '15, 06:52 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Oct 16th, '14, 08:44
Posts: 1253
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Mostly
Location: Orlando, FL USA
It's good to see kids nowadays working with their hands :thumbright:

_________________
Floridafishin's System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 11th, '15, 09:02 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: Jul 29th, '13, 07:58
Posts: 3382
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: West Florida, USA
Nice looking build mark. Kudos for getting the boys involved. It's nice for kids to grow up with some skills besides pushing keyboard and phone keys. What kind of fish do you plan on raising?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 11th, '15, 11:11 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
Thanks.
My youngest wants to weld on the back beds I had him test weld and I and going to work with him on some scrap so he is ready when the time comes.

I have someone that will make me a good deal on some ½ pound tilapia. So I might get these for the summer.

But in the end or by winter I am going to get bluegill so I don’t have to heat the water as much in the winter.
I was testing my bell siphon today. I was running a ¾” hose into the radial flow filter and I had the FT plugged. The bell siphon was working well.

I bought the pump for where the system will be when done so at this point it has too much flow. It is flowing more than the ¾” hose was.
I am going to add a valve to slow the flow down some. Then I can do the fishless cycle.

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 11th, '15, 22:19 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
Water is circulating today. My bulk head fitting the goes through the pond liner is dripping. The pond liner has a liner under it. I think this bunched up at the bulk head fitting.

I will fix this tonight. My pump is sized to where my system will be when it is completed so it has too much flow right now. I had my wife pick up a 1” valve so I can reduce the flow some.

I have a 2” fish tank over flow that just goes back to the sump tank and that is running today.

The bell siphon is working very well.

Media guard.

Attachment:
20150511_080507.jpg
20150511_080507.jpg [ 35.27 KiB | Viewed 2607 times ]


Under the bell siphon
Attachment:
20150510_133231.jpg
20150510_133231.jpg [ 51.6 KiB | Viewed 2607 times ]

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 13th, '15, 03:32 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
I tried to fix the bulkhead fitting leak last night. But when I was taking the fitting off on the bottom it turned the bulkhead adapter against the pond liner on the top. When I saw that was happening I put a pipe wrench on it but the damage was done. A tiny rip in the pound liner. I thought I got it covered with the fitting but it is leaking worse now.

I got a new bulkhead fitting today with a little wider rubber gasket hopefully that will seal it up.

Since it is just a steady drip I have left it run since yesterday morning. It is draining and filling about ever 9 -10 min. I increased to flow some to the grow bed and now only a very little water is coming out the over flow in the FT.

Attachment:
20150512_135953.jpg
20150512_135953.jpg [ 69.98 KiB | Viewed 2578 times ]

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 13th, '15, 03:34 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Oct 16th, '14, 08:44
Posts: 1253
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Mostly
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Getting closer.

_________________
Floridafishin's System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 13th, '15, 23:33 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 4th, '15, 22:55
Posts: 631
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Upstate SC
The tank my son and I put in the ground had a 1 ½ bulkhead fitting in the top of it that was not being used. It was just a little bigger than the one I had in the bed.

I cut away the liner under the pound liner and I cut away the metal around the bulkhead fitting. I was able to center it a little better.

No more drips!

I also added some short pipes to make the water coming into the bed to go under the rock not on top of it.
Now we need to add a couple wheelbarrows expanded slate and we can start planting.

Attachment:
20150513_111539.jpg
20150513_111539.jpg [ 84.65 KiB | Viewed 2554 times ]
\

I will do a water test tonight and add the Nitrifying Bacteria, Maxicrop 2002 Liquid Seaweed Plus Iron Fertilizer and some ammonia.

_________________
My system
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24884
Solar array 12.5 Kw netzero last two years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 14th, '15, 02:05 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Oct 16th, '14, 08:44
Posts: 1253
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Mostly
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Although it looks better you may want to rethink the new piping into the media. The reason that this is generally not done is. Roots will follow the water back to it's source and travel back up your piping. There are pics on various threads here, where the roots plugged the pipes after traveling 4ft up them.

_________________
Floridafishin's System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 49  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.104s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]