All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 376 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 26  Next
 Post subject: My little aquarium
PostPosted: Dec 4th, '07, 23:00 
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Hello everyone, i'm Matej from Slovenia and i've been interested in AP for 5 years now and i love it, i'm a student of horticulture but my school provides no knowledge even about the RAS system and i'm happy i found your forum as it is far more knowledgeable

i've built a small system a year ago i think, it's a small cabby growing basil. runs on 120L of water RAS style, deep water culture but recirculative

water temps are around 22-25°C
ph 6.5-6.9 adjusted with KOH and Phophoric acid at the start
EC 0.7

i have one gold fish, three Pterophyllum scalare, two Trichogaster trichopterus sumatranus, four Platys (Cyprinodontidae), four Silver Sharks, and one cleaner living in my aquarium

let's have a look
now i'm having some problems, the leaves are turning yellow for quite some time and i can't figure it out, is it the lack of growbed (i'm using mediumless), or are the temps the problem? although i've grown in RAS with no problems with temps over 25°C

ph is rock steady, i only bring fresh water every week i don't drain anything out, i add about 10L of aged tap water once a week
could this be the problem? i'm feeding them some commercial food from a pet store, and it contains a lot of NaCl as it is very salty if you taste it, maybe the salts builded up?

i tried feeding them red composting worms, but only the goldfish had the hunger for them....would love to have another suggestion on what to do with these tropical fish food?

Attachments:
File comment: the basil grew well from the start
aquaponika25-08- 003-1000.jpg [83.77 KiB]
Downloaded 5938 times
File comment: cabby finished and ready to power up
aquaponika05-07- 002-1000.jpg [83.22 KiB]
Downloaded 5940 times
File comment: cabby with no fish yet, cylcling for one month