All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: May 7th, '15, 10:59 

Are you human?: Somewhat
Hi all! This will be my first time attempting an AP build. I live in an apartment so I can't go too big and I'm a student so I can't go too expensive. After some feedback from a few members I've decided to go with a CHIFT PIST system, hopefully flood and drain.

This is what I'm modeling my system after (taken from this website :)):

Attachment:
CHIFT PIST.png
CHIFT PIST.png [ 279.16 KiB | Viewed 3977 times ]

Here's what I've put together so far:

Attachment:
IMG_0955[1].JPG
IMG_0955[1].JPG [ 129.04 KiB | Viewed 3977 times ]

- 100L (~26 g) FT
- 2x 50L (~13 g) GB's
- 50L (~13 g) ST
- ~1100Lph (296gph) pump

I still need to build my autosiphon and figure out how to plumb it all together (hose or PVC). I'll probably move the FT closer to the two GB's, but other than that I think everything is in it's final resting place.

I think my pump is probably going to be a bit overpowered so I will likely use joc's suggestion of adding a T-valve above it's outlet to short circiut excess flow before it leaves the ST and see if that helps.

Do I need a bigger ST? If I've always got 100L in my FT and I'm planning on flooding and draining the GB's doesn't that mean my ST has to hold as much as my GB's, preferably a little bit more?

I'm hoping to grow some leafy greens and a couple chili's. The GB's will get a good dose of early morning light, but I'm not sure how close it is cutting it to the minimum of 4hrs that curious suggested, so I might have to add a light or two.

For fish my inclination is to go cheap, so goldfish or cichlids or something similar.

Any and all comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

HB
MCFC

My system

Advertisement

PostPosted: May 7th, '15, 12:30 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Are you human?: YES