All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next
 Post subject: New second system
PostPosted: Jun 1st, '15, 12:08 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Are you human?: I'm an EMT
Hello all!

Recently I acquired a set of blue 55 gallon barrels, thanks to the kindess of my wife, and her growing enthusiasm for this activity. Today I got started on the frame construction, and I will say this upfront; never ask me to frame ANYTHING. :blackeye:

Anyway, on to the photos!

For starters, I am building this system at my parents house in their backyard. The area that I chose gets the most sunlight through the day, as it's not shaded all morning by the Blue Spruce pine tree, then all evening by the house. So where it is at right now, is basically where it will stay at when it's finished.

I should have replaced the blade before beginning.....

The frame is made from my parents old waterbed that they replaced not too long ago (my dad's back has gotten really bad these past few years, so they got separate beds). The lumber was perfect! There was just enough to make the top frame, but I will still need to figure out what I'm going to do about the legs of the system.....

After this shot was taken, I realized that the barrels for the growbed weren't exactly level like I wanted them to be, so I untacked them from the frame and made the needed adjustments before re-attaching them. :?

And that is what I was able to get done today. Tomorrow I figure out how I'm going to attach the legs to the frame, figure out how to stabilize the FT under the growbeds, and decide if I should clad the exterior of the system in plyboard to help insulate the FT.