All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 02:17 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
Hi all,

After six month of reading, learning, then designing & building : here is my first system.
I'm located in the French West Indies (Caribbean).

My system is a CHIFT PIST, has a 1000L IBC as FT, two 500L linked sumps, and two 3 meters x 1 meter GB filled with gravel and expanded clay.

Measured pump output is approx 1500 L/hr, 500 L/hr go in each growbed and the surplus overflows to the sump.

Bell siphons are made with 32mm standpipe (1" 1/4), the beds flow in approx 20' and ebb in 7'.

Right now i've began fishless cycling and i'm in the process of shading the fishtank and the sides of the bed to keep the sumps from sunlight.

Attachment:
IMG_25824a (small).jpg
IMG_25824a (small).jpg [ 269.62 KiB | Viewed 6665 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_25829a (small).jpg
IMG_25829a (small).jpg [ 291.77 KiB | Viewed 6665 times ]

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 02:28 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Jun 17th, '15, 08:30
Posts: 32
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Skagit County, Wa
Nice!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 02:59 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Jul 11th, '15, 03:07
Posts: 49
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: South Africa - Jhb - Fairland
Neatly done.

_________________
My IBC System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 03:31 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
Thanks !

I've added the water 5 days ago and began dosing with pure ammonia each day, maintaining bewteen 0.50 and 1 ppm.
Today i've seen first signs of nitrites (0.50 ppm) and also a little nitrate maybe (around 2.5 ppm i would say but it's hard to read).
Seems a little fast after only 5 days. Maybe thanks to the warm climate and also the fact that the media was sitting here for a month receiving rainfall before i added the water. Some bacterias colonies may have settled there earlier ?

My PH is around 8.0. Should i leave it like that for the moment and adjust while fully cycled ?

BTW water temp is 26°C (78 °F) in the morning and 29°C (84 °F) at the end of the day. Hope to lower that a bit when i install the sun shades on the FT & Sumps.

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 04:21 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Aug 13th, '15, 19:49
Posts: 13
Location: South Africa
Gender: None specified
Are you human?: YES
Location: South Africa
Wow very neat, looking forward to seeing more


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 26th, '15, 07:24 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Feb 7th, '11, 18:32
Posts: 3178
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Most of me
Location: Thailand, Chaing Rai
Quote:
My PH is around 8.0. Should i leave it like that for the moment and adjust while fully cycled ?
Quote:


Yes,its helping you at the at moment,i wouldnt rush to alter when it is cycled either,add your fish and plants and see what your plants do,then if need be bring it down slowly.

_________________
dasboot's system
Andreas Garden.
https://www.facebook.com/Andreas-Garden ... 681644511/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 27th, '15, 00:38 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
Thanks for your answers !

Here are a few pics of design details...

Attachment:
IMG_25835a (small).jpg
IMG_25835a (small).jpg [ 245.28 KiB | Viewed 6549 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_25836a (small).jpg
IMG_25836a (small).jpg [ 243.59 KiB | Viewed 6549 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_25837a (small).jpg
IMG_25837a (small).jpg [ 233.17 KiB | Viewed 6549 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_25838a (small).jpg
IMG_25838a (small).jpg [ 202.85 KiB | Viewed 6549 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_25839a (small).jpg
IMG_25839a (small).jpg [ 148.31 KiB | Viewed 6549 times ]

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 27th, '15, 11:45 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: May 26th, '08, 17:41
Posts: 275
Gender: Male
Nice system. Do you have a lot of rainfall and if so do you think the system will be OK without a cover?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 27th, '15, 18:47 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
I'm located in one of the dryest part of the island, so not much rainfall usually (2 to 4 inches per month).

But could be heavy occasionally in the rainy season.
Which kind of problems could be caused by heavy rainfalls on the growbeds ?
Thanks,

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 28th, '15, 03:07 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '14, 07:21
Posts: 180
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
The only problem might be overflowing the sump tanks. It could lower the pH if it rained enough. Pure unpolluted rain water is typically around 5.6 pH.

Also, expanded clay is too light weight to provide much support for top heavy plants. Wind and rain make it even worse.

The system looks great but I would make it a priority to shade the fish tank. Also, I'm not a big fan of running the SLO output to the ground then back up to the grow beds. You find after a year or two, they will clog up especially where you have the shutoff valves. I wouldn't go tearing apart the piping... just make sure to keep an eye on flow rates. Running directly across from the SLO will keep the pipes much cleaner in my experience but of course makes an inconvenient barrier.

_________________
.·´¯`·.¸¸.·•Chîµmånƒµ•·.¸¸.·´¯`·.

Arduino Aquaponic System Controller - Github


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 28th, '15, 05:10 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
Thanks for your answer Chuimanfu.
I have an overflow pipe on the top of my sump so overflowing won't be a problem. Hopefully heavy rains are not too common and usually occur in a short period of the year.

Shading the fish tank is #1 on my to do list ! Just bought the shading cloth today, will post a picture once done.

While designing the system i hesitated to do this circuit from SLO to the beds, but i wanted to be able to walk all around the bed. I must admit that i was a little afraid when i first circulated the water ! I plan to do a high pressure flush of those pipes several times a year, and fortunately the shutoff valves are removable.

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 28th, '15, 06:30 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Aug 27th, '15, 07:23
Posts: 10
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: padstow, sydney
Love the carpentry work!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 1st, '15, 18:58 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 26th, '07, 03:05
Posts: 567
Location: Luquillo, Puerto Rico, USA (Until I win the lotto and move to Washington State!)
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Last I heard...
Location: Luquillo, Puerto Rico, USA
Nice work! What percentage shade cloth did you buy, or did you go with the 12% plastic?

_________________
When I'm not playing with fish, I:
http://www.facebook.com/boatgraphicspr
http://www.puertoricosigns.com
http://www.boatgraphicspr.com
My system: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=15173&hilit=puerto+rican+ponics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 1st, '15, 19:26 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: May 6th, '10, 12:04
Posts: 101
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Western Australia
Looks great, how did you line the growbeds? Pond liner? I am struggling with leaks in mine atm....

Sent from my SM-N910G using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 1st, '15, 21:54 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 26th, '15, 04:45
Posts: 80
Location: Guadeloupe - FWI
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Guadeloupe FWI
Thanks for your comments !

I've just finished shading the fish tank. I've used a shading cloth at 80% i think, and another fabric over it just to look nice. Now i'm a bit worried that my Tilapias will be in a too dark environment. Anyone has feedback on this ? Do Tilapia live well in darkness ?

The grow beds are lined with a second hand swimming pool liner. But a tough one (1.5 millimeters thick). I didn't do any cutting or welding, just folded the angles. For the bell siphon exit, i've used a PCV fitting designed for liners.

Attachment:
IMG_25888a (small).jpg
IMG_25888a (small).jpg [ 294.76 KiB | Viewed 6353 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_25891a (small).jpg
IMG_25891a (small).jpg [ 273.09 KiB | Viewed 6353 times ]

_________________
My system, 500 Gallons in a tropical climate : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=25794


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.156s | 21 Queries | GZIP : Off ]