All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 382 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 26  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: May 1st, '11, 20:05 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
Forgot to mention all was okay after HSM the other day. system may have been off all day but As I said nitrites were fine and were still fine the next day, amm was slightly up maybe .25 or .5. will continue to monitor ites for the next few days.............

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: May 1st, '11, 20:37 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 13th, '09, 18:11
Posts: 669
Location: Mill Park, Melbourne.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes, I think?
Location: Australia, Victoria
Gunna be 5.5mm trout feed. 45% protein.
Pretty sure its the same stuff. where does Quachy get his food from??
My silvers didn't mind eating the same food :shifty:

Regards
Matt

_________________
systems
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6782
solar system.http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=7706
Chilly tankhttp://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9917


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 09:11 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
pretty sure Quachy was getting his from a stock feed place in Ballarat, pretty sure they are barra pellets though... not sure if there is really a difference

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 09:23 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 19:46
Posts: 6600
Location: sunbury
Gender: Male
Are you human?: no
Location: sunbury
BNDYBEAR wrote:
pretty sure Quachy was getting his from a stock feed place in Ballarat, pretty sure they are barra pellets though... not sure if there is really a difference

Yep gone up to $75.00 for 30 kg can you beat that

_________________
If it/s free pick it up
If it isent broke dont fix it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 09:36 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
I had a local supplier price me $76 for 30kg, I am waiting to hear from another supplier.

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 12:49 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: May 25th, '10, 07:43
Posts: 878
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Flemington, Melbourne
BNDYBEAR wrote:
I had a local supplier price me $76 for 30kg, I am waiting to hear from another supplier.


I am trying to get the stock feed place in Flemington to price a bag up for me.

Technically there isnt much difference between trout/barra feed. The breakdowns are pretty crude. I think the only choice is size and sink/float.

I got a bag of 4mm floating pellets which my 75mm trout each easily. But they dont float that well, so I think they may have been quite old by the time I bought them.

_________________
Home System

System at my olds (deprecated)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 13:00 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 13th, '09, 18:11
Posts: 669
Location: Mill Park, Melbourne.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes, I think?
Location: Australia, Victoria
Thats a good price :laughing3:

Might have to let Dean from growfresh know that he need to improve his prices

Regards
Matt

_________________
systems
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6782
solar system.http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=7706
Chilly tankhttp://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9917


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 13:05 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 2938
Images: 51
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Nope! I'm a machine.
Location: Dowerin, WA
I picked up 40kgs of 8mm feed really cheap which I am currently cutting up to feed my trout. It doesn't float but it doesn't sink like a lead weight either.

The trout almost always consume it before it hits the ground and will even eat from the floor providing it isn't sitting still (which never happens with the SLO sucking water from the bottom and water return causing the water to swirl).

_________________
ArBe
My Home System
My Country Backyard


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 13:07 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: May 25th, '10, 07:43
Posts: 878
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Flemington, Melbourne
mattyry wrote:
Thats a good price :laughing3:

Might have to let Dean from growfresh know that he need to improve his prices

Regards
Matt


I worked out that it costs me 2 to 3 hours and $25 in petrol to collect from Ballarat.

Growfresh wont need pricing much sharper to beat that.

_________________
Home System

System at my olds (deprecated)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 2nd, '11, 16:58 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
The feed that people have been sourcing from Ballarat is the same feed I can get locally for roughly the same price. Any stock feed place should be able to get the barra pellets in, however not many keep it in stock. There are plenty of stock feed places around me and I am currently pricing a few of them to see what we can get.

I think the biggest thing is which feed people prefer, Floating or sinking?

My trout are currently being fed sinking 6mm barra pellets and yes they hit it so hard that hardly any of it gest to the bottom uneaten.

I was previously crushing it since it was 6mm and a little too big for my little trout but now they have grown sooooooo much they seem to be taking the 6mm fine.

I do however have a problem with solids, I believe this to be the cause of overfeeding and also the fact that I was crushing the feed and the dust just settles to the bottom uneaten.

Any one in VIC that is in need of getting feed at the moment please PM me and tell me your preference, size, float or sink.

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 22nd, '11, 10:39 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
I have placed an order for some Lauke Mills Barra feed 30kg's of 6mm, should have it by next Thursday. Mattry how are you holding up?
Speaking to the stock feed guy and he told me that some people feed there fish (unspecified) Golden Yolk Layer pellets! Has anyone heard of this or done it. I have heaps of it since my chooks (and all the local birds) go through it like its got crack in it!

I would like to give it a go but not sure if it could do any harm or not.

On another note, I have been biten by the expansion bug again! :twisted: :twisted:

Considering extending the system around the west side of the shed in a recently cleared garden bed.
I still have two whole unused IBC's sitting down the back yard. I really think I need to expand my GB capacity, but then comes the plumbing issue of trying to get then to drain back to my existing sump.
Working with one IBC for the moment my options are;

1/ I have considered using it whole as a GB (RE- OBO design)
this will provide me with an extra 1000lt of filtration but only 1sqm of GB area. Plus would probably only be F&D for the top 600lts in order to get it to drain back to existing sump. (not dug in :evil: )

2/ would be to cut it in half, using top section as GB and bottom section as additional sump. having the GB above syphon into sump and sump interconnected and balanced with the 2 existing sumps.

3/ would be to cut it in half and use both halves side by side both as GB's and have these constant flood at the minimal fluctuating hieght of the sump tank interconnected and balanced to the existing sumps.

any thoughts would be appreciated.

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 22nd, '11, 19:27 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 13th, '09, 18:11
Posts: 669
Location: Mill Park, Melbourne.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes, I think?
Location: Australia, Victoria
Yeah mate, should have enough feed till then.
drop us a line when you are ready..
Dig a dirty big sump (IBC) into the ground or at least half way and re design it to be CHIFT PIST. have a SLO in FT, this way your sump tank is always clean and the only time you need to go near it is to look at you pump. If you can not sink a sump into the ground, cut the 2 IBC's @600l mark and interconnect for a 1200l sump and use the 400l section as GB's,

hope all that makes sense :think:

regards

Matt

_________________
systems
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6782
solar system.http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=7706
Chilly tankhttp://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9917


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 22nd, '11, 22:44 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 19:46
Posts: 6600
Location: sunbury
Gender: Male
Are you human?: no
Location: sunbury
Lets know when the food arrives how much is it

_________________
If it/s free pick it up
If it isent broke dont fix it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 23rd, '11, 09:39 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
Thats the option I am leaning towards too Mattyry, cut em down and use the tops as GBs and bottoms as sumps. Similar to the rest of the system, then the bottoms can be FT or more sump volume. I think by making it 400/600 I will still be able to SLO out of the bottom half and either into the existing Tilkie tub GB or in to the current sump,................ AH it just came to me!
If I can set SLO to gravity feed into existing second half of sump it will provide me with a bit more circulation in this sump to move the solids off the bottom. I may even move my pump into that sump and go ahead with my yabbie idea in the first sump.
Hope this drawing helps....
Attachment:
SCAN0001.JPG
SCAN0001.JPG [ 17.41 KiB | Viewed 1361 times ]

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 23rd, '11, 09:42 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 18:58
Posts: 1043
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia victoria
BNDYBEAR wrote:
Oh yeah and I reckon its about time I removed the word NEW from my System title.
Maybe if I get permission to add another couple of GB's we could call it Bundy Bear's Ever Expanding System!



I reckon its time for the name change. the beauty of IBC's you can just continue placing them side by side untill you have taken over the entire back yard, all 1000m2 of it!!!!! :twisted:

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6817
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6856
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30453#p570333


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 382 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 26  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 49 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.148s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]