All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 10:27 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at aquaponics, I have used 3 barrels, currently 8 x 30mm barra & put a few seeding in on day 2.
What is the growth rate of the plants & barra?


Attachments:
File comment: 1st build
DSC_1558 - Version 2.jpeg
DSC_1558 - Version 2.jpeg [ 29.18 KiB | Viewed 3305 times ]

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 10:33 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Mar 26th, '10, 12:08
Posts: 296
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Depends on the time
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW
Very neat first system. You may consider putting more media in the growth beds to increase your bio-filtration capacity and did you think of a sump tank to reduce the changes in water level in your fish tank.

_________________


Cheers
Rob

Remember. If you have never failed, you have never tried.



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 10:43 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 6th, '09, 08:13
Posts: 3284
Location: Perth, hills region
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Are you human?: Not in the morning !
Location: Western Australia
theking wrote:
Hi everyone,
This is my first attempt at aquaponics, I have used 3 barrels, currently 8 x 30mm barra & put a few seeding in on day 2.
What is the growth rate of the plants & barra?

Pretty much impossible to answer those questions mate - just too many variables.

You should be able to grow the barra out to plate size (300g +) by the time the weather turn cold, but it's going to depend on amount of dissolved oxygen, overall health and water quality, how much you feed 'em, ........

Similar story with the plant growth as it depends on amount of light they get, pH of the water, amount of major and trace nutrients available, .....

However, with a healthy system, there's no reason you should be disappointed with the growth results of either.

_________________
¸.·´¯`·.´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((º>
.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((º>

My System: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5264
My Website: http://www.chillies-down-under.com
My Blog: http://www.seaweedguy.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 10:43 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
on a tight budget at the monent, i still more media to finsh of the last grow beds, how do setup you a sump tank???

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 11:05 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jul 18th, '10, 13:09
Posts: 2385
Gender: Male
Are you human?: mostly
Location: Western Australia
defiantely need more media, how about using peagravel in the bottom, then topping off with hydroton?
a sump tank would be another blue barrel, used to reduce the amount of water lost in your FT when you fill the GB's. heaps of systems have them on, and theres literally hundreds of ways of setting it up so you'll want to research that. IMO using another bluebarrel and joining it onto your current FT would be fine, just make sure you pump out of one and drain into the other, so there is a water flow between the tanks.join the tanks with a large pipe from the bottom of one to the bottom of the other .

with 400L of GB and only 200L of FT your pretty much going to empty the FT everytime you fill up your GB's. and barra wont like breathign air :(

might also get a bit tight for room with 8 barra in a 200L FT when thhe GB's are full.
With those fish in that tank monitor your levels closely when your cycling the FT, but when its cycled and completed (yeh right no AP setup is ever 'finished') itll be a very nice, tidy system:) great work :thumbright:

_________________
Science: An attempt to understand the world.
Often contains big words that are unnecessary

Freo system | Spearwood
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 11th, '10, 12:08 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 8th, '10, 12:22
Posts: 528
Images: 3
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Montarra, South Australia
What size are your outlets below - looks good :)

I need to plumb up some barrels, what type of connections did you use?


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 12th, '10, 09:56 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
Erich wrote:
What size are your outlets below - looks good :)

I need to plumb up some barrels, what type of connections did you use?


40mm T's, Elbows, drain fitting & drain adaptor, & a 51mm hole in the tanks

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 12th, '10, 10:17 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Mar 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 5276
Location: South Australia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yep
Location: South Australia
To add a sump, the easiest way would be to put the fish in a new barrel on tp of your existing fish tank.

You pump the water into the top fish tank, which overflows into grow beds. The grow beds would drain as they do now, but in what would now be called the sump.

It means the fish always have a full barrel of water, and if for some reason a grow bed overflows or something dumping al your water out it cant empty your fish tank. The output from your fishtank is passive in thats its just overflow.

I dont use a sump in my blue barrel system, but have only a 1/2 barrel GB and only a few fish in my test system, but I think you will be happy with the amount of produce you get :)

My test system looks like this, not that you can see much of it.
Attachment:
single blue barrel aquaponics.JPG
single blue barrel aquaponics.JPG [ 34.34 KiB | Viewed 3150 times ]

_________________
-

My system

120 THINGS IN 20 YEARS - My blog about my learning adventure

My skills include being able to move slowly forward in time, and if I really concentrate, I can sometimes tell what I'm thinking.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 9th, '11, 20:32 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
Its been awhile since I have posted any updates.
Its been two months since I started the setup, the growth rates of the plants have been very slow. I started of with 10 Barra an I have two left.
Any ideas in how to refect the heat from the colour bond fence so it doesn't burn the plant leaves?
I have been using seasol once a fortnight to try to help with plant growth.


Attachments:
File comment: Tomatoes
DSC_1709.jpg
DSC_1709.jpg [ 83.3 KiB | Viewed 3048 times ]
File comment: Rockmelon & chilli
DSC_1701.jpg
DSC_1701.jpg [ 117.1 KiB | Viewed 3048 times ]
File comment: 2 month growth
DSC_1698.jpg
DSC_1698.jpg [ 111.31 KiB | Viewed 3049 times ]

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 9th, '11, 20:39 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan 11th, '07, 14:20
Posts: 6449
Location: Perth
Gender: Female
Location: Jandakot
What about trying sheets of polystyrene, or brushwood. Shadecloth might reduce the reflective heat but the temp might still come through.
how big are the barra now?

_________________
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum ... a&start=45 (Fayes system)
http://backyardfarming.com.au/phpbb3/vi ... f=24&t=119 (Fayes garden) https://www.facebook.com/Botanic.Obsession


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 9th, '11, 21:07 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
The barra are about 60mm & 80mm long, which I think the growth rate is a bit slow. I feed them every second day.
I will try some brush wood - where can I find some in rockingham area.

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 7th, '11, 16:47 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
Hi all, it been awhile since I have posted, I have had some issues with my system of late.
* I have lost about 4 Barra over the last two months
* Slow grow rate of the veges - Tomatos flowering but no fruit only except the couple in the previos post, rockmelon flower only.
* I have got these bugs on the capsium plants any ideas.
* When is the most suited time to change over to Trout in the Perth area?

Any feed back would be great. :bigsmurf:


Attachments:
File comment: Bugs on capsium plants
Bugs1.jpg
Bugs1.jpg [ 32.78 KiB | Viewed 2914 times ]

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 7th, '11, 17:14 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '10, 14:15
Posts: 27
Location: Baldivis
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis, Western Australia
How can I get rid of caterpillers as they have just done a invasion over the last two day?


Attachments:
File comment: Catapiller
Catapiller-1.jpg
Catapiller-1.jpg [ 31.27 KiB | Viewed 2901 times ]
File comment: Poor Growth
Poor growth-1.jpg
Poor growth-1.jpg [ 44.44 KiB | Viewed 2903 times ]

_________________
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8548
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 7th, '11, 17:36 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 19:46
Posts: 6580
Location: sunbury
Gender: Male
Are you human?: no
Location: sunbury
Yates dypel is your friend

_________________
If it/s free pick it up
If it isent broke dont fix it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 7th, '11, 17:40 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Guessing aphids on the capsicum, hose or brush them off and like FF said Dipel for the grubs

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.166s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]