All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: Mattyry's Chilly tank...
PostPosted: Jun 18th, '11, 09:32 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Are you human?: Yes, I think?
I think most people in Melbourne are frustrated that we can only grow trout for 9-10 months of the year. Also it's far to cold for 6 months of the year to produce the warm species. Silvers seem to be able to handle the cold but do not feed during the winter months and if not big enough they will not make it through the winter.
Well first I would like to say that this idea is not my own, and got the idea reading it on Dicko's system thread. (I'm sure there is others that have toyed with the idea.)
Being a refrigeration mechanic I though that I could build a system that was capable of keeping trout over the summer months.
To design a system was going to cost thousands $$$, so I though I could pull apart some small freezers and lay the evaporators (cold part) flat on the bottom of a fridge panel tank and cover with pond liner. I think this still this would of worked well but very labour intensive because you still have to build insulated GB's & sumps. I still think this would cost well over 2 G's to build...
To reduce the labour and remove the engineering side of thing out of it I decided to investigate purchasing Chest Freezers which can be easily sealed and suported.

So I thought I'll put up my plans for your viewing pleasure/comments

Design.
System to CHIFT-PIST (Can not go wrong with this design IMO)
1000L FT (Chest freezer)
650L GB (Chest freezer) Not actually going to use the refrigeration, but just us it for its good insulating properties.
500L Sump Tank (Chest freezer/ eskies sunk into ground )
Air (Lots, hooked up to my solar system, this will also support the back up)
Pump 1000-1500lph on timed intervals enabling to control when to flood GB's
Back pump from inverter which is hooked up to the solar system, only circulating water in FT.