All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Dec 25th, '15, 07:19 

Are you human?: yes
Hello everyone,

I am going to explain in this thread step by step process to creat your own fish food. But first allow me to introduce myself as i am new to the byap forum.

My name is Amgad an Egyptian living in KSA atm. I work as a chemist and i am new to Aquaponics but not new to raising fish. I am now specialized in breeding and raising Discus.

I have been making my discus food myself for several years now and i learned how to formulate fish food better every time. When i started my AP system i started to think of the ingredients i am going to include in my tilapia food and my approach was to make it as cheap as possible for it to be economical without sacrificing nutrition.

Basically to make your food complete you have to provide in it all the nutrients your fish needs. These can be categorized in to Protein, Fats, vitamins, minerals and carbohydrates.

Proteins can be of animal or plant origins and are the mass builders for fish

Fats are important as they provide higher energy than protein but only unsaturated fats can be used by fish. Providing a source of unsaturated fatty acids such as omega3 will allow the fish to use it for energy, thus saving the protein for growth.

Vitamins and minerals are essential for the fish vitality and body functions

Carbohydrates, are not really important in fish nutrition and most fish cant digest it.

In addition to the above there are feed enrichments and these IMO make all the difference.

Let me start explaining the preparation process and explain what enrichments do i use and how are they beneficial.

I will start by listing the ingredient list:

White fish fillet 300g
Shrimps. 130g
Frozen Minced beef. 100g
Frozen minced chicken 150g
Spinach. 400g
Peas and carrots 200g
Crushed soy bean 100g
Crushed corn. 100g
Yeast. 70 g
Multivitamins minerals & amino acid. 30g
Spirulina 1tsp
Paracoccus bacteria 1 tsp
Brown bread flour