All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: Catfish Dying
PostPosted: May 28th, '17, 06:27 

Are you human?: no
I have a new chop and flip IBC system. It has been cycling for about 8 weeks with no fish. 25 channel cat were added a week ago. Yesterday I had one dead fish. Today one more. Water quality seems good. The water is crystal clear.
Ammonia is .25 ppm
Nitrite is .25 ppm
Nitrate is 5-10 ppm
pH is high at 8.4
I have made no attempts as of yet to lower the pH so there hasn't been a major swing. I was hoping the cycling of the tank would start to take care of that for me.

The fish are eating fine and showing no signs of stress. I'm using aquamax feed from purina. They are not gasping at the surface. I have plenty of oxygen entering the tank. Water temp is normal.

This is my first attempt at aquaponics and I don't want to lose any more fish if I can help it. What am I missing? Any help is appreciated.
Thanks!

Kyle

Advertisement

Post subject: Re: Catfish Dying
PostPosted: May 28th, '17, 15:12 

Are you human?: YES
Sorry to hear about the fish Kyle.

Have you added any salt to help with the effects of nitrites? What's your water temperature? The ammonia toxicity is related to the pH and water temp, high pH is usually not good and if you have high water temp as well that might mean that you're in the danger zone even with a low reading. I'd suggest withholding food to let the nitrite and ammonia readings come down till the situation is clear :thumbright: . Hope this helps.

PostPosted: May 28th, '17, 21:38 

Thanks for the reply.
I have not added any salt yet. I've been having trouble nailing down the exact procedure and I didn't want to make the issue worse by doing it incorrectly. The fish tank is about 220 gallons. How much salt should I add?

The water temperature has been holding steady at 69 degrees F.