All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14  Next
PostPosted: Feb 24th, '16, 13:12 
Newbie here. Starting this hobby this year. looking forward to many months of reading through all of the threads to get caught up.

Advertisement

PostPosted: Feb 24th, '16, 19:09 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Are you human?: YES
Hi Deuem, :wave:

Be aware that this "hobby" can turn into a passion which can turn into an obsession... :mrgreen:

There are some very large aquaponics projects in China. We look forward to seeing yours grow into something special!

In Lake Taihu / 太湖, aquaponics was used to try to clean up the water a bit, and there are large floating rice fields in other lakes:

A nice little system in Southern China (Jinghong / 景洪):

An interesting system in Taiwan / 台灣:

Please take plenty of photos to document your journey! Everyone loves photos! :headbang:

--
Sam

Jardín Acuaponía #1

PostPosted: Feb 25th, '16, 11:56 
Hi and thanks for all the photos. The reason you mentioned is exactly why I want to start this for my family. Yea they use the plants to de-tox the water then go and sell them to us or feed the pigs, where we would bury them. Labeled not for animal consumption. With over 90% of the water here unsuitable for drinking, even by animals it is a chore to get clean water. It is about 100 or more time the cost of tap water. Ok I just ran the calculations and clean water is 266 times the cost of city water. River water is even cheaper. Which the farmers use as is. It is the same water we get in the tap. No treatments at all. If I use it in my fish tank, the fish die in 3 days. But it is ph neutral.