All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Mar 31st, '17, 03:41 

Are you human?: YES
Hi folks,

I hope you are willing to share some of your experiences and insights with me. I'm Mikkel, a 27 year old Dane and a total newbie, when it comes to aquaponics. I grew up on a farm and now I'm looking for a way to farm in urban environment, where I currently live. Aquaponics definitely seems to be a very appealing option.

I reach out, because I would like to know a little about the challenges of aquaponics, before jumping right into it. I imagine some of have had your struggles already and have the personal experience to pinpoint, what I should focus on. So to make it easy, I'll only ask one question:

What are the three main challenges for you as an aquaponic farmer?

I'm looking forward to learning a lot. Every input is much appreaciated

Cheers,

Mikkel

Advertisement

PostPosted: Mar 31st, '17, 15:24 

Hi Mikkel, Welcome to the forum.

Most of use here aren't farmers we're home backyard growers.

Cheers

PostPosted: Mar 31st, '17, 17:24 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: mostly
Quote:

yep +1... it is akin to growing a vegie patch in the backyard for most people in urban areas/towns/cities.

However there are members with bigger systems (usually living in out of town areas)

if you had a big enough yard then this is a pretty good example of where the upper limit probably is for back-yarders....
Fayes System viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1622

May the fish sh*t and the plants grow.....

PostPosted: Mar 31st, '17, 19:08 

scotty435 wrote:
Hi Mikkel, Welcome to the forum.

Cheers

Thanks Scotty435 for the heads up. I don't know how I missed the backyard part. However, I often find it just as interesting and educational to talk to "backyarders". They usually see things in a different light and are more willing to experiment.

So if you are up for it, I would still very much appreciate if you could me tell of the three biggest challenges in your eyes.