All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Jan 13th, '15, 21:46 

Are you human?: yes
Hello all. First post, but have been lurking and really like the activity level.

So, on to my question. I am just getting started, actually don't even have any fish yet, only seeded my first few rockwool blocks with lettuce, kale, spinach, and some old pepper seeds I had left from my outdoor garden. I am currently sourcing around 100 blue tilapia that once grown will reside in a 1000 gallon stock tank that will serve as my reservior.

Reading a few posts concerning asparagus, I have seen mixed reviews concerning the "doability" of growing asparagus in either an aquaponics or for that matter hydroponics system, but I haven't stumbled upon a thread where somebody tried to grow these in a dutch (bato) bucket system. Some of the issues I've read seem to have a central theme of grow space required and dormancy where you have wasted square footage. That has got me thinking that a dutch bucket system seems to possible provide a solution. With these, you can trigger a dormant period by inducing drought, remove the bucket from the system and place in a cool dry area and occasionally sprinkle water in the bucket to ensure enough hydration to keep the plant alive as it rests. When one is ready to begin the next active cycle, it can be placed back in the system. This provides the ability to rotate the "spot" in the system between plants where you can always have active growth on a crop that is in season.

So, again, this is my first post and I have absolutely zero experience, but I'm planning out my system now and would like to know if anybody has tried this, results, or advice anybody might have.

Advertisement

PostPosted: Jan 14th, '15, 05:25 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: Yes
It'd work, but to be honest, I'd drop them in a F&D bed and forget about them. Plant around them, and let them go dormant naturally.