All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Apr 22nd, '12, 08:33 

Are you human?: SAY!
Hi, i've been a long time lurker around here and its about time to introduce myself and my system... I'm also here because I am currently experiencing a HSM which I will be needing help from the experts here...

and so... *cough* the introduction first...

I'm from Shah Alam, Malaysia and I've been doing aquaponics for about 4 years now. My interest in aquaponics started from an idea to build a sort of machine to generate a constant supply of fresh vegetables for my pet green iguana. My first research brought me into hydroponics and that is when I had the idea of attaching several vegetable grow pipes directly on my iguana's outdoor cage. It didn't went well as the tropical midday sun can heat the pipes and boil the water killing the plants. It is also difficult to obtain hydroponics fertilizers in my area and so i thought maybe I could recycle iguana poop as plant food. My focus then went on to aquaponics (or iguanaponics) until... my iguana escaped his cage...

With my iguana gone, i'm left with one big pvc iguana cage, several pieces of hardwood for a yet to be constructed larger iguana cage and a stack of pvc pipes, pumps, plastic containers, and bins. Then what? Time to for a new hobby --- Aquaponics!