All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 293 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 16:59 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
Yep, and people never learn! Look at me, i lost 20 odd silvers, and my indoor jades are just about the same size now, and i still havn't got back-up........you get very "into" it when shit happens, then you forget about it again :(

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 17:45 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Dunno VB, the pump i'm using ATM (not for long) is about 30W and it barely trickles over the bed at a 1.5m head and 3m 20mm pipe run.

WHere as i think my air pump is 15W at 30 litres per minute air flow. That a hell of a lot of air..........and the plants are more likely to survive a power outage than the fish (i assume you were suggesting kill two birds with one stone)


Mate, I think you are guilty of not reading the posts thoroughly (again) :D . I guess it is a forgivable offence these days with so many posts to keep up with. As you will see from my earlier post, I am saying that the pump on the failover would not feed the beds, simply a waterfall to provide aeration.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 17:55 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
You're right, i do tend to skim posts sometimes.

Still reckon that bubbler would be more efficent due to surface area of bubble in contact with water over time to rise to surface, but that just speculation. I have the feeling AA may disagree with me? AA? only way to know for sure is to use one of them new fangled DO meters :)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 18:15 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 7th, '06, 20:23
Posts: 936
Location: Adelaide
Gender: Male
Location: South Australia
mmm, a DO meter sets you back a couple of thousand though

and the membranes arent cheap either


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 18:31 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 19:46
Posts: 6601
Location: sunbury
Gender: Male
Are you human?: no
Location: sunbury
950 watt camping generators then you could run say a pond pump and an air pump$165.00 nightingales and that b store has then also at a simular price


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 18:33 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
Have 2 be there to turn them on though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 18:55 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
DO meters you can get for around the $700 mark, you're probably thinking of process line models that are designed to be "in solution" permanantly.

I think the ultimate redundancy would be a combination of both. A UPS or inverter setup for auto switch over and short term (4 to 8 hours) running of a bubbler, and then a genny on hand for the longer outages or if you wanted to run your pumps and stuff. Probably more suited to a larger set up (2000+L)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 19:01 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Jul 12th, '06, 18:36
Posts: 438
Location: Florida
Gender: Female
Are you human?: yes
Location: Florida, USA
I do like the idea of trying a UPS. Looking forward to results of your trying it simmo. Air bubblers take very little to power. This might work well for my tank at home, the larger system will need a generator with so many tanks. I am also looking at a solar system to keep air going.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 8th, '06, 19:30 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Aug 7th, '06, 20:07
Posts: 8293
Location: margaret river West Oz
Gender: Male
Location: Western Australia
I'm going to buy a genny this weekend thanks for reminding me Steve.
Hoping to be able to run the house water as well.
Only thing we miss when the power is out.

_________________
Give me trout any day
http://s670.photobucket.com/albums/vv70 ... ?start=all
http://forum.homeone.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 09:14 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sep 11th, '06, 12:51
Posts: 82
Location: Adelaide
Gender: Male
Air compressors (for cars, tools and such) are dirt cheap these days.
With the kind of air flow we need, a tank should last a week :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 12:11 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 17th, '06, 11:36
Posts: 585
Location: North Maclean Qld
Gender: Male
David I already run a 14 cfm compressor as a backup air supply, I keep it running all the time. It pumps back up to pressure about every 45 minutes and if power goes off will supply a very good supply of air,(possibly much more than is needed) for 3 hours.

At the "B" shop they have ones that are about 1/3 the size of mine for 99.00


Murray


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 13:01 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sep 11th, '06, 12:51
Posts: 82
Location: Adelaide
Gender: Male
excellent

_________________
"I know, its not your problem and if you burden your friends, soon you wont have any".................."what are you, a fortune cookie?"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 17:05 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 25th, '06, 07:52
Posts: 6857
Location: adelaide hills
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Adelaide Hills
Could we just use one of these? How much litres per hour is required?

www.ageofaquariums.com.au/prod1485.htm

_________________
www.thefishfarm.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 20:30 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
Stu, that looks great, and its 6V which mean you can wire in a 6V lantern battery for incredible run times.

I found O2 requirements per kg of fish once, god knows where that data is now, but basically its still a best guess without a DO meter.

Only prob i have with that pump is that it looks to be a diapram type, and it runs cont. not just when the power goes out (unless you hook it to a power fail relay) Diaphram pumps are not known for long life spans.

There are many ways to do this air redundancey thing

On the compressor idea........... you could buy a "fail-open" valve and put it inline with the compressor. That way when the power is on the valve is closed. when ihe power fails the valve opens, supplying air. A new compressor will hold air indefinatly (nice new valves) so it will never switch on until after a power outage.

I'd also love a DO meter to take quantative measurements. I'm surprised how well a 15W water pump bearly breaking the water surface facilitates gas exchange in my 200lt aquarium with 7 perch. maybe much less than 30L/min would be fine. Then again, when i had 20 silvers in the same tank i probably needed 30L/min. its not just the bubbles in the water that add o2, when they break the surface there is natural gas exchange happening too. We just can't know except for looking at the fish or getting a DO meter.

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '06, 20:39 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 25th, '06, 07:52
Posts: 6857
Location: adelaide hills
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Adelaide Hills
"Only prob i have with that pump is that it looks to be a diapram type, and it runs cont. not just when the power goes out (unless you hook it to a power fail relay) Diaphram pumps are not known for long life spans"

I thought when it said automatically shidts from Ac to Dc during power shortages means that it only runs when the power is out, but you are probably right.

It's got a 12 month warranty, so that's a start I suppose. I would still like to see the end result and your product using the UPS

There's this one too, bit more grunt

www.ageofaquariums.com.au/prod747.htm

_________________
www.thefishfarm.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 293 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.099s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]