All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 293 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ... 20  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Aug 17th, '09, 11:47 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jun 8th, '09, 03:41
Posts: 441
Location: Rokewood, Vic.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: not for much longer
Location: Rokewood,vic
G'day all, I found this kit on jaycar and it looks like it might be good for running back up 12vdc power
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.as ... eyword2=KC
What do you guys think?
If you smart people think it might be ok I will get one and try it out!

_________________
http://benbrook2.wix.com/bentism

And I just wanted a water feature, but then I made my own filter and I'm only a noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Aug 17th, '09, 20:13 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Oct 11th, '07, 19:43
Posts: 6687
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not at 3 am :(
Location: Kalgoorlie
Yeah, plug a bigger battery into it, and you could power a decent aerator for quite a while, or bilge pump. Depends on the max power output.

It would be a very good way to power up an inverter for 240 volt gear too.

_________________
My New Commercial System - viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6616
My Work - http://www.goldfieldsmc.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 18th, '09, 04:48 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jun 8th, '09, 03:41
Posts: 441
Location: Rokewood, Vic.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: not for much longer
Location: Rokewood,vic
yeah thats what IO thought, I have a 50 AH battery here to use, I think it said max draw was 5 amps.

_________________
http://benbrook2.wix.com/bentism

And I just wanted a water feature, but then I made my own filter and I'm only a noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 18th, '09, 06:07 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Oct 11th, '07, 19:43
Posts: 6687
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not at 3 am :(
Location: Kalgoorlie
12v @ 5A will power an inverter load of 240v 50watt with a bit to spare.

_________________
My New Commercial System - viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6616
My Work - http://www.goldfieldsmc.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 18th, '09, 06:36 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jun 8th, '09, 03:41
Posts: 441
Location: Rokewood, Vic.
Gender: Male
Are you human?: not for much longer
Location: Rokewood,vic
Outbackozzie wrote:
12v @ 5A will power an inverter load of 240v 50watt with a bit to spare.

How long would the 50 AH's last through an inverter compaired to just running a DC bilge pump or airpump?
I have a 5amp 800GPH DC bilge pump that could plug straight in.

_________________
http://benbrook2.wix.com/bentism

And I just wanted a water feature, but then I made my own filter and I'm only a noob!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 18th, '09, 20:07 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Oct 11th, '07, 19:43
Posts: 6687
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not at 3 am :(
Location: Kalgoorlie
50AH at maximum load of 5A = 10 hours. Realistically around 7 before low voltage cut off. Your only really want to draw from it for 5 hours before you start damaging the battery.

But the bilge pump (seeing as you already have one) is a good option :)

_________________
My New Commercial System - viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6616
My Work - http://www.goldfieldsmc.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 27th, '09, 10:40 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 3rd, '09, 06:50
Posts: 956
Location: Bullsbrook
Gender: Male
Are you human?: 01011001011001010111
Location: Western Australia
I am going to make a failover switch using this 240 volt Relay

Attachment:
240 Volt relay.jpg
240 Volt relay.jpg [ 28.06 KiB | Viewed 3132 times ]


http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.as ... BCATID=754

and a junction box, GPO and three prong plugs I have lying around, for ~ $20 I will get the same sytem you can pay $125 for. Used together with a 600W inverter and my three stage charger and a large deepcycle battery I think I will have a cheap and versitile emergency back up system to run my air pump and maybe even a small sump pump aswell.

I know all of this has been mentioned earier in the topic but I think this system has distinct advantages over a UPS designed for a computer:

- Variable battery size to suit different systems
- Inverter can be used for different functions such as running an air pump in your car to get your fish home alive
- Separate charger is always useful to have
- I can use the battery for other functions such as running the kids electric ride on car.

_________________
Simo

My system : http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=12922

The good thing about science is that you don't have to believe in it for it to be right.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Aug 27th, '09, 17:47 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Oct 11th, '07, 19:43
Posts: 6687
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not at 3 am :(
Location: Kalgoorlie
And one big disadvantage (in my eyes) - you do not know if it has failed until the power goes out.

That is the main reason why I run my backup 24/7 - so I see straight away if it is not working.

_________________
My New Commercial System - viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6616
My Work - http://www.goldfieldsmc.com.au


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '10, 22:02 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Sep 28th, '06, 13:17
Posts: 2916
Location: Northam
Gender: Male
Are you human?: could be I guess
Location: Republic of Gnash
Ok so slowly getting my stuff together and backup power is a must.

Planning on using my projecta battery charger (1600mA) and an Inverter I relieved my brother from :boxing: .
The Inverter is Modified Sine wave but only 150w output, should this be enough? I know it's a tricky question without knowing as yet the wattage of a pump and air pump but any ideas are welcome :thumbup:


Attachments:
Aquaponics Stuff (Medium).jpg
Aquaponics Stuff (Medium).jpg [ 65.33 KiB | Viewed 2902 times ]

_________________
Unattended children will be given an Espresso and a free puppy ;)


http://www.backyardfarming.com.au/phpbb ... f=24&t=270

Image
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 7th, '10, 08:07 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Aug 11th, '10, 06:53
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: NSW
Im working through this at the moment
Re 100W inverter, watch the starting current of pumps, 100W pump may draw 300W to start

Im on the same track as Simo
I have a 240V 4 pole relay which will transfer power supply from mains to inverter if mains drops out
Spare pole can start 12 v relay whch starts inverter

BUT will it be OK to transfer load to inverter and provide it with 12 v at the same time?

Running inverter the whole time is OK but they use fair bit of standby current and they do wear out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 9th, '10, 17:21 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: May 28th, '10, 15:40
Posts: 1508
Location: Strathfieldsaye Bendigo, VIC
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Are you human?: salmonid
Location: Bendigo - Central VIC
remember once you have a battery you have a constant 12v supply, while allows you to use 12v relays to turn such things as inverters etc on...

id be using a 30A Car Style Relay as the switch on the inverter.

also if your switching your Supply's between Inverter/mains to the same Pumps etc, i think you need timers to allow it to have some grace time between switching, this would also give your inverter time to warms up and get ready also Brown outs and those times where mains seems to flicker could cause your inverter to get blown up etc.

Iv Built my Control Circuit with Heavy Duty Commercial grade switch gear, and a brand new 30A Relay to switch the Inverter on and off.

there has also been ideas thrown at me from electricians to use a UPS off a computer system and then exchange the 7AH Battery's inside for a Car battery or two this takes care of all the switching and fall over.

_________________
Cheers!

Jamey.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 9th, '10, 18:11 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
I have plenty of ups's lying around schools with dead batterys that are never going to be used again. Is just a matter of connecting the car batteries to the battery connects in the ups ??

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 9th, '10, 18:55 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Aug 11th, '10, 06:53
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: NSW
Not sure UPS is up to running for a long time with larger bat, also charge circut might not be current limited and could overload with big battery hooked up

Re Simo and timers, Ive got a similar setup in mind, just trying to avoid those 12V delay on relays
I can get some used 240v delay on timers free but this means there will be tiny 240V demand (driving the relay) on inverter when it starts - will it be OK?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 9th, '10, 20:12 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: May 10th, '10, 21:46
Posts: 453
Gender: Male
Are you human?: After midday.
Location: West Australia
jet wrote:
Not sure UPS is up to running for a long time with larger bat, also charge circut might not be current limited and could overload with big battery hooked up

Jet is right. Smaller UPS are not current limited so the bigger battery if drained will attempt to draw far more current than the charge circuit is suited for.
Overheating due to running longer on battery is also a concern.

If the UPS is big enough to have the external connections for additional battery banks no problem, most of those are current limited.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: back up power supplies
PostPosted: Sep 9th, '10, 20:36 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: May 28th, '10, 15:40
Posts: 1508
Location: Strathfieldsaye Bendigo, VIC
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Are you human?: salmonid
Location: Bendigo - Central VIC
I didn't like the ups idea either, not that iv looked into possible problems your reasons make sence. It also spells unreliability to me, I think the main idea of a bbu is to use the least amount of components, try to design it to be as simple as possible, and make sure it can handle the job. I also like the idea of an alternate source of running it for pro longed outages, ie being able to source it off a car.

I think weekly testing and monthly cycling is also important.

_________________
Cheers!

Jamey.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 293 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 ... 20  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.159s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]