All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 288 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '12, 19:36 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Nov 3rd, '07, 10:30
Posts: 2295
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Only after 3 coffees
Location: Glasshouse Mountains, Qld Australia.
Thanks chainsaw, I was at your place a couple of weeks ago. Thanks for showing me around. If I could not find the info on the site was going to give you a call.

Will start to look for some IBC in the next couple of weeks but have a few different things on the plate. Unfortunately they are not barra or trout. :upset:

Once again thank you for a look at your system.

Cheers. Robert

_________________
The Only Stupid Question is the One Not Asked

BackYard Aquaponics
ccBear's First System

BackYard Farming
CcBear's Dunbyu Gardens


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '12, 20:01 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Dec 3rd, '11, 11:12
Posts: 1462
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: east Texas
ccBear wrote:
I would love to see how to wire up the Jaycar relay mention 4 post's back. Can it be wire to a air stone and a 12v pump at the same time.

240v motors and appliances are being sold in the states and used legally. They refere to them as heavy duty not sure but believe it is because they last longer.


We have always had 240 volt here in the U.S., all our high draw things run it, dryers, water heaters, stoves, ovens and such. But all the lower draw things run 125vdc (everyone says 110). 240 is just two 125 volt legs wired together.

_________________
Helomech's system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 5th, '12, 17:17 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30th, '09, 08:53
Posts: 669
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Palmwoods Sunshine Coast QLD
Got you now Bear, these days I suffer from CRAFT disease. Am in Townsville until 19th

_________________
1 test is worth 100 expert opinions


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 5th, '12, 17:24 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Nov 3rd, '07, 10:30
Posts: 2295
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Only after 3 coffees
Location: Glasshouse Mountains, Qld Australia.
No problems CS have fun mate :headbang:

_________________
The Only Stupid Question is the One Not Asked

BackYard Aquaponics
ccBear's First System

BackYard Farming
CcBear's Dunbyu Gardens


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 5th, '12, 17:37 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: May 10th, '10, 21:46
Posts: 453
Gender: Male
Are you human?: After midday.
Location: West Australia
helomech wrote:
We have always had 240 volt here in the U.S., all our high draw things run it.

Most household stuff is all single phase 240v in Aust. But 415v/3phase is sometimes used for the bigger domestic aircons etc.
Commercial/industrial very common for 415v.
Don't see a lot of 2 phase items except in rural areas.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '12, 08:10 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jul 27th, '12, 08:36
Posts: 467
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Half and Half
Location: Melbourne Australia
http://www.powerwerx.com/batteries-char ... .html#desc

That would work.. Charges a battery as well.
Just feed in 13v via a plugpac via your mains, and if that gets disrupted, it switches to batterys..

_________________
My system: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13332
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/aquaponicsaustralia/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '12, 08:27 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 21st, '12, 06:51
Posts: 545
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Australia, WA, Beldon
helomech wrote:

We have always had 240 volt here in the U.S., all our high draw things run it, dryers, water heaters, stoves, ovens and such. But all the lower draw things run 125vdc (everyone says 110). 240 is just two 125 volt legs wired together.


I'm pretty sure that it is AC not DC for normal house wiring in the USA, despite Edison's best efforts...

_________________
My system
My solar upgrade
My wicking beds
My chooks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '12, 09:34 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: May 30th, '11, 16:27
Posts: 1109
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Baldivis WA
nebbian wrote:
helomech wrote:
despite Edison's best efforts...

:laughing3:

Funniest thing with that phrase is most people have a blank look on their face when you say that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '12, 09:39 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 6th, '09, 08:13
Posts: 3284
Location: Perth, hills region
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Are you human?: Not in the morning !
Location: Western Australia
werdna wrote:
nebbian wrote:
helomech wrote:
despite Edison's best efforts...

:laughing3:

Funniest thing with that phrase is most people have a blank look on their face when you say that.

Yeah, I would have until I recently saw something about him on TV and they talked about him wanting DC powerstations - interesting history.

_________________
¸.·´¯`·.´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((º>
.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((º>

My System: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5264
My Website: http://www.chillies-down-under.com
My Blog: http://www.seaweedguy.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 01:13 
Offline

Joined: Nov 19th, '13, 07:16
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: San Frencisco Bay Area, California, USA
I've worked a lot with standby power. Normally and UPS is used for emergency power to critical systems until engines come up. It's a load/battery size sort of thing. In essential and non-essential systems, the power is allowed to fail and an engine generator comes on the line and takes over. A computer would probably be connected to an ups to avoid a reboot, but a pump can normally live with an outage until a generator takes over.

I raise koi! I've had outages as long as two weeks, wh8ile I was on vacation. I told the person watching them to stop feeding and just keep me posted if the fish started gasping for air. Because I had such a low load (only 20 large koi) there was no problem. When I returned, I purged the filters and lines as best I could so the fish weren't exposed to toxic water. after that I fed lightly for a week while the filter bacteria recolonized.

Batteries are rated in amp hours! You can determine the current drawn (in amps) and divide that into the amp hours to get an idea how long the battery will supply the UPS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 08:47 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 21st, '12, 15:28
Posts: 1601
Location: At my desk
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Coolbellup
werdna wrote:
nebbian wrote:
helomech wrote:
despite Edison's best efforts...

:laughing3:

Funniest thing with that phrase is most people have a blank look on their face when you say that.


Made me laugh, especially seeing he used the electrocution of an elephant by evil AC in his campaign. Poor old topsy!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topsy_(elephant)

(disturbing video warning for link)

_________________
Frontyard systems: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=15937
backyard system: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16873
Duckyard system: TBA


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 09:30 
A little bit more to the story than that... :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topsy_%28elephant%29


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 09:38 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: Nov 10th, '12, 09:27
Posts: 2666
Gender: Male
Are you human?: maybe
Location: Vic
Poor topsy, people are such absolute scum.
i used to have respect for edison.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 09:48 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 21st, '12, 15:28
Posts: 1601
Location: At my desk
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Coolbellup
RupertofOZ wrote:
A little bit more to the story than that... :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topsy_%28elephant%29


Thats right they poisoned the elephant first, then electrocuted it. The 6.6kV AC seemed more effective! 6.6KV DC would have been perfectly safe!

Would have probably been a better way to go than hanging though!

_________________
Frontyard systems: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=15937
backyard system: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16873
Duckyard system: TBA


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 20th, '13, 10:09 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: Nov 10th, '12, 09:27
Posts: 2666
Gender: Male
Are you human?: maybe
Location: Vic
or they could have released it into the wild.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 288 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.066s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]