All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 15:46 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
Hey Guys.

I have rigged up a bell siphon that leads down to an aerator/silencer (both designed using affan's designs on his website) however when the grow bed fills and dumps it only dumps half of the water in the grow bed and goes back to a trickle. Basically it drops from 300mm water level to 150mm water level without any grow medium in it (as I am still working on it). Is having the plants 150mm above the water level up far enough to avoid root rot. It definitely dropped further without the aerator/silencer but it is something I'd like to keep attached for obvious reaons.

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 15:50 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Your plants will be fine. I have a constant flood bed that never drains even with the pump off and the plants and worms are all fine.

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 15:54 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 12th, '06, 07:56
Posts: 17771
Images: 4
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Yep.... +1

You might find that you end up taking the bell off one day... :)

_________________
www.havehomewilltravel.com
Life on the road


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 16:20 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 2937
Images: 51
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Nope! I'm a machine.
Location: Dowerin, WA
Your bell is breaking the siphon/getting air at the 150mm level.

Can you post some pics of your bell etc?

_________________
ArBe
My Home System
My Country Backyard


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 17:12 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
Cheers guys. Here ya go Arbe. I am thinking of putting a pinch point in the outlet pipe which is 25mm to reduce the flow rate. Ignore that PVC around the edge of the pond, that is actually a pond cover I am building to keep out the cats/my 19 month old


Attachments:
Bell Siphon 002.jpg
Bell Siphon 002.jpg [ 69.13 KiB | Viewed 3587 times ]
Bell Siphon 001.jpg
Bell Siphon 001.jpg [ 42.6 KiB | Viewed 3587 times ]

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 26th, '11, 18:52 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
The bell setup looks better than any of mine so the bit going into the fish tank/sump must be doing something. Maybe it is not letting the drain run freely enough to finish and causing a backup pressure that is stopping it. :dontknow:

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 01:42 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jan 18th, '11, 08:29
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Location: Western NC
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Unknown Cyborg
Location: North Carolina
mantis wrote:
Maybe it is not letting the drain run freely enough to finish and causing a backup pressure that is stopping it. :dontknow:


That would be my guess as well. If you can you may want to remove everything past that last 90 degree bend and see if that helps.

_________________
LowCarbTNPer's Systems: [v3] [v2] [v1]

Arduino UNO Data Sender / Logger


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 05:56 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 2937
Images: 51
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Nope! I'm a machine.
Location: Dowerin, WA
@LowCarbTNPer: It has already been mentioned that when the aerator/silencer is removed the water level drops further but for obvious reasons JackFrost wants to keep it.

I am wondering if you changed the 90 degree elbows to 45 degrees if that would make a difference?

Have you also tried it without the adaptor on the top of the standpipe?

_________________
ArBe
My Home System
My Country Backyard


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 07:15 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Oct 9th, '09, 09:16
Posts: 469
Images: 26
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: South West WA
More holes in the top of the silencer to release build up of pressure. As the water level rises in the sump or tank it also raises in the silencer increasing pressure not being released, thru what I can see ,two small holes. It does not take much to stop a syphon from working.
Cheers


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 07:29 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: May 28th, '10, 15:40
Posts: 1508
Location: Strathfieldsaye Bendigo, VIC
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Are you human?: salmonid
Location: Bendigo - Central VIC
Theres not enough holes in the surround for sure....

If this is being used, it will empty this really quickly when the siphon kicks there fore sucking air causing it to break.

I would suggest atleast 6mm Holes and i would have the bottom half of the pipe completly covered in them.

_________________
Cheers!

Jamey.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 09:41 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
Thanks all. Will use your suggestions to tinker with the system and let you know how I get on.

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 17:28 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
I drilled those three holes in the silencer to 6mm and got the water level down to 130mm before the siphon broke but then I cut a couple of larger triangles out of the bottom of the bell dome and it now only drops to 180mm so I'll have to redo the bell dome.

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 17:52 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 26th, '10, 20:46
Posts: 2937
Images: 51
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Nope! I'm a machine.
Location: Dowerin, WA
Is the 'lid' glued on the dome? I have had siphons work but break early due to them getting some air from the lid.

_________________
ArBe
My Home System
My Country Backyard


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Sep 27th, '11, 18:55 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
arbe wrote:
Is the 'lid' glued on the dome? I have had siphons work but break early due to them getting some air from the lid.

Not yet as I don't want to go gluing until I am reasonably happy with it but that may explain the problem I was having as I am pretty sure I'd have loosened the lid when I was cutting the triangles bigger however I redid the bell done it with only smaller 4 triangle cuts and it is now breaking at 120mm so hopefully I'll get even more when I glue the lid.

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Bell Siphon
PostPosted: Oct 3rd, '11, 07:49 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Aug 8th, '11, 12:28
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Landsdale
arbe wrote:
Is the 'lid' glued on the dome? I have had siphons work but break early due to them getting some air from the lid.

And you sir, win the gold star! Works a dream now

_________________
My system

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10251


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.090s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]