All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Oct 25th, '11, 08:01 
Why do you think that Maxicrop.. isn't a suitable product for aquaponics...

It is only used as a plant tonic... and trace element supplementation...

Frankly, not only are the hydroponic nutrient solutions hugely expensive... but some are probably down right dangerous or fatal to your fish...

They're all artificail chemical mixes... whereas Maxicrop is a proven fish safe natural product... in a chelated form...

As you're adding chelated iron, and worm tea.... I just can't understand why on earth you would use any of the products you list above...

Why bother with aquaponics.... if you want to do hydroponics??


Top
  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Oct 25th, '11, 08:10 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10700
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
Hay Rupe, I think he is actually doing some comparison testing (not actually in aquaponics.) At least I hope so as I wouldn't want to be adding those things in with fish either.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 25th, '11, 08:59 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Which maxicrop are you talking about. There are a few different versions, like the one with added N:P:K, and the straight seaweed concentrate
http://www.multicrop.com.au/fertilis.ht ... oncentrate

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 2nd, '11, 10:00 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jul 18th, '10, 13:09
Posts: 2385
Gender: Male
Are you human?: mostly
Location: Western Australia
mantis posted this - though it belonged in here somewhere Image

_________________
Science: An attempt to understand the world.
Often contains big words that are unnecessary

Freo system | Spearwood
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 2nd, '11, 11:28 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Apr 4th, '11, 13:18
Posts: 2344
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not before 8am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
I've been testing out 3 type of different nutriment (certified organic ) they are not cheap but are very concentrate and needs less.
1) CANNA flores
2 )BIOBIZZ bloom
3 ) B.A.C organic PK boost
4 ) B.A.C organic Bloom
plus adding 2tbs(to 1500lt) of chelate iron monthly
also I have a wormculture and make my brewing from the compost monthly, adding woodhash to the mix to benefit of potassium in an organic form.


I can tell you that Canna Flores is definitely not organic.

Biobizz would appear to be certified organic, according to their website.

As far as the BAC nutrients are concerned, the only reference to them being organic is made by the manufacturer themselves.
I couldn't find any organic certification on their website for the two products you mentioned, or any of their products. Maybe I missed it, but I would've thought they'd make any reference to organic certification stand out like dogs balls... with great big flashing arrows pointing at it!

However, it's not whether a nutrient is organically or synthetically derived that's the issue for use with fish... it's the contents, especially Copper, Zinc etc, contained within the nutrient solution that is an issue. Whatever the source of the nutrients in the bottle, these elements would still need to be in similar concentrations within the solution... so the organic alternative is no less harmful to fish.

The occasional dash of Seasol (or Maxicrop) and pinch of Iron chelates seems from my experience to keep the plants happy. Some people growing fruiting plants also find they need to add Pottasium, either through the addition of banana skins and worms to the GB's, or by adding Potassium in one form or another, they've been covered on here extensively. I think if you need to add any more than the items listed above, you may not have enough fish in your system, or the food you are feeding them may not be balanced.

Cheers.

_________________
Mr Damage - a.k.a: Yabbies
Owner at Perth Aquaponics - Aquaponic Consultant & Trainer
Trade certified Horticulturist & Cert IV TAE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 2nd, '11, 21:55 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10700
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
happily enough seasol or maxicrop provides potassium along with appropriate amounts of most trace elements.

Or when buffering your pH up you can alternate a calcium buffer with a potassium buffer (like using calcium carbonate one time and potassium bicarbonate the next) or for those who need a fast acting substance to raise pH, calcium hydroxide (brickies lime) and potassium hydroxide (old fashion potash lye.)

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 10th, '13, 21:59 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Aug 2nd, '10, 08:56
Posts: 117
Location: Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Hong Kong
I have 20 jade perch in my 1000L FT. In my grow beds I've a range of plants but nothing is doing very well. I want to add chelated iron but have been unable to find it here in hong kong. I did find the product below. Any thoughts on the suitability and dosage?

I should mention my ph is relatively high at around 8.0

Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2

Image

_________________
Don't worry, Be silly.

My system http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=7958


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 30th, '13, 01:03 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Oct 18th, '11, 13:20
Posts: 118
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: USA, Arizona
Seems like a lot of Cu and Zn for a fish system. I'm sure there is Fe Chelate somewhere in Hong Kong, if not could be shipped?

_________________
The Urban Patio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 3rd, '13, 20:15 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10700
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
If you can't find something that would be safe enough to dump in the system. You may be able to dilute it and spray it on the plant leaves to give your plants what they need without much risk to the fish if you avoid dumping large amounts of it in the system.

So paedur5, if that is the only nutrient you can find, perhaps mix it as a foliar spray and spray your plants with it instead of risking your fish.

Foliar feeding is often a good way to get trace nutrients to the plants especially if your system water pH is too high for the nutrients to stay available to the plants in the water.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 3rd, '13, 22:36 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Aug 26th, '10, 07:17
Posts: 8898
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Oregon, USA
TCLynx wrote:
If you can't find something that would be safe enough to dump in the system. You may be able to dilute it and spray it on the plant leaves to give your plants what they need without much risk to the fish if you avoid dumping large amounts of it in the system.

So paedur5, if that is the only nutrient you can find, perhaps mix it as a foliar spray and spray your plants with it instead of risking your fish.

Foliar feeding is often a good way to get trace nutrients to the plants especially if your system water pH is too high for the nutrients to stay available to the plants in the water.


I'll second this comment.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 4th, '13, 04:03 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Oct 18th, '11, 13:20
Posts: 118
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: USA, Arizona
Just make sure to foliar feed early to avoid burning the plants.

_________________
The Urban Patio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 5th, '13, 08:12 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Jul 27th, '12, 08:36
Posts: 467
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Half and Half
Location: Melbourne Australia
I use 'trace elements' from bunnings - same bottle as above. I put in about half a cup (then topped up with water) to mix it then dump into my sump.

Works fine, no fish issues - (i have 4500L tank, 5 growbeds and 2 sumps)

_________________
My system: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13332
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/aquaponicsaustralia/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jul 18th, '14, 03:42 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: May 15th, '12, 22:31
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: barely
Location: Florida, USA
I've been using potassium sulfate for my potassium supplementation and it works great. My nitrates were around 50ppm last time I checked and so I kept adding K2SO4 until I got just below 50ppm. Is this 1:1 ratio good for vegetative growth? I had good success with this formula, but I read a lot of conflicting information on the internet. In hydroponics I aim for a 1:1, but closer to 150ppm of each. I know that some people will have their nitrates running at 0 but still have explosive plant growth. This confuses me :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jul 18th, '14, 04:32 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Feb 23rd, '07, 03:48
Posts: 6715
Location: Lyonville Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Lyonville
I'm pretty sure I've asked this question before but how are you measuring the K.

_________________
Grow more with less


http://www.FishFarmers.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/fisharmers?ref=aymt_homepage_panel
http://hedgerowfarm.com.au/
https://www.facebook.com/HedgerowFarmVictoria/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jul 18th, '14, 06:46 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: May 15th, '12, 22:31
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: barely
Location: Florida, USA
http://www.horiba.com/us/en/application ... ter-17163/

It has worked great for me for the most part. I calibrate before every use, which is anywhere between 5-10 tests. I also use the same pens but for calcium (Ca2+) and nitrate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.250s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]