All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ph problem with media
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 01:16 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
My media is raising my ph what is the normal ph of any media like expanded clay


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 01:44 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 11:16
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Boise, ID
The idea of expanded clay was that it is supposed to be pH neutral. That being said, I have read that all expanded clay is not created equal.

My suggestion

Fill cup with tap water. Test pH. Let sit for 24 hours. Test pH. Add media and let sit for 24 hours. Test again.

Remember that the nitrification process drives pH down so eventually it could work out fine.

What's your pH?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 02:18 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Silverbullet555 wrote:
The idea of expanded clay was that it is supposed to be pH neutral. That being said, I have read that all expanded clay is not created equal.

My suggestion

Fill cup with tap water. Test pH. Let sit for 24 hours. Test pH. Add media and let sit for 24 hours. Test again.

Remember that the nitrification process drives pH down so eventually it could work out fine.

What's your pH?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

My ph is siting at 8.4


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 02:18 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Would lava rock work fine

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 04:32 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 11:16
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Boise, ID
What media are you using now?

Lava rock, or scoria, can vary in its pH. Mine will drive pH up to the low 8's, but will drift down as the process really gets going. I'll spray leaves with iron to try to help their deficiencies in the meantime. The fish don't seem to mind much.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 05:23 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Silverbullet555 wrote:
What media are you using now?

Lava rock, or scoria, can vary in its pH. Mine will drive pH up to the low 8's, but will drift down as the process really gets going. I'll spray leaves with iron to try to help their deficiencies in the meantime. The fish don't seem to mind much.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

I'm using pea pebbles it has my ph up around 8.4

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 06:00 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 11:16
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Boise, ID
You can treat your top up water a bit with hcl and try to bring it down that way. I'm going to bet your pea gravel has a lot of quartz in it.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 06:02 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Silverbullet555 wrote:
You can treat your top up water a bit with hcl and try to bring it down that way. I'm going to bet your pea gravel has a lot of quartz in it.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Would you suggest me treat the water or try switching media

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 07:11 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 11:16
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Boise, ID
It's hard to say. If you have too much quartz you might never bring it down.

When I first started I had pH issues and was going to change it out. Most said to wait it out which I did. It resolved after a few months.

In system 2 I had pH issues again. I waited it out, treating the top up water like I did on the first one. One day, the pH crashed and then I had to add egg shells and other stuff to bring pH up.

Hard to say what you should do.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 08:40 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 30th, '13, 18:41
Posts: 193
Location: Canberra
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Australia, Canberra
When I've added Fe-EDDHA iron to my system pH went down from 7.8 to 5.9.

I was really worried for my silvers but they cooped well. I have also about half ppt salt and aeration going full steam. They are all good.

Do you have fish in your system? If not, treat the top up water with Hydrochloric Acid to pH6 and gradually add this to the FT.

If you have fish, it should acidify in time. Do you see any adverse affects on the fish or veggies? Most nutrients would be locked so there might be some deficiencies on your veggies.

_________________
----///----{<0o'>
Canberra - Cool-mountain region
Fish: Trout / Silver Perch
Hailea 80 air pump
2FT and 4GB
Gurkan The Cheesemaker
Pictures of My AP System
Akuaponik Türkiye


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 10:54 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Silverbullet555 wrote:
It's hard to say. If you have too much quartz you might never bring it down.

When I first started I had pH issues and was going to change it out. Most said to wait it out which I did. It resolved after a few months.

In system 2 I had pH issues again. I waited it out, treating the top up water like I did on the first one. One day, the pH crashed and then I had to add egg shells and other stuff to bring pH up.

Hard to say what you should do.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

I think there is quartz in it I dumped it I have expanded clay now I'll keep this thread updated with my results.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 10:55 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
Thanks for your help silver bullet

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 11:00 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 9th, '16, 05:27
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: San Diego California United States
GurkanYeniceri wrote:
When I've added Fe-EDDHA iron to my system pH went down from 7.8 to 5.9.

I was really worried for my silvers but they cooped well. I have also about half ppt salt and aeration going full steam. They are all good.

Do you have fish in your system? If not, treat the top up water with Hydrochloric Acid to pH6 and gradually add this to the FT.

If you have fish, it should acidify in time. Do you see any adverse affects on the fish or veggies? Most nutrients would be locked so there might be some deficiencies on your veggies.

I don't have fish in the system yet I switched over to expanded clay I had a pea peable mix that was raising the pH

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920AZ using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 12th, '16, 20:01 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '15, 11:54
Posts: 528
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Cam619 wrote:
I had a pea peable mix that was raising the pH

The easy test of pebbles/gravel is with cooking vinegar. I grabbed 3 handfuls of different gravel I had available, including some my wife liked, and with each type, halfway filled a nice clear drinking glass. In each I poured in 1 cup of white cooking vinegar. I had 2 types that did not bubble at all -- so they did not have alkaline qualities that would push up pH and and one that did. The white gravel my wife liked of course was limestoney and it bubbled like soda pop left sitting in a glass for 1+ hours -- not super gaseous, but enough where one always saw bubbles rising (4, 5, or 6 at a time rate.) The alkaline white gravel would have always been pushing for a higher pH (which if properly regulated might not be such a bad thing?) while the other two gray gravels did not bubble at all and were not alkaline.

So easy to do and it could save hours of shoveling (if you use gravel you're not happy with.)

--
Sam

_________________
Jardín Acuaponía #1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: May 27th, '16, 21:01 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Feb 11th, '16, 06:45
Posts: 137
Images: 0
Location: Battambang
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Not sure.
Location: Cambodia
Cam619 wrote:
the system yet I switched over to expanded clay I had a pea peable mix that was raising the pH


What did it settle at?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.170s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]