All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Jun 11th, '19, 16:08 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '18, 23:55
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Wow there's so much going on!

There's a few things you must answer;

Mr Damage wrote:
You haven't added anything and your Ammonia went from 0.0ppm to 0.5ppm, and your pH went from 6.4 to 8.0, overnight, am I reading that correctly?

Did you do a water change at all, either partial or full?

Is this true?



Are you doing the test correctly? following the instructions?

Are there any fish?

How long have you been cycling for? or when did you start?



There are other possibilities,maybe your tap water has a stupid amount of Nitrate in it already & maybe Ammonia,that's why you're getting those readings.

Another one,maybe you have cycled that's why you have 1ppm Ammonia & 1ppm of Nitrite & a lot of Nitrate.

Also keep PH at 7.5 if you can.The bacteria prefer slightly alkaline water.

Do an Ammonia test & Nitrate test directly from the tap (not the system) and then rule it out.
And do not put any more Ammonia.

_________________
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Jun 12th, '19, 01:31 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 16th, '19, 05:59
Posts: 16
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Portugal - Braga
Hello! Let me answer your questions!

1. I change all the water in fish tank but still remains a little in the growing bed.. maybe 5% or less.

2. I think these values are correct because I measure with other test kits and the results are very similar

3. I don't have any fishes yet

4. I´v been cycling for about 11 days, but in day 4 (or 5) I change the water in fish tank (about 600L)

So now what is expect is to lower the nitrates and up the nitrites, right? Can I had some plants to help the process?

Thks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 12th, '19, 01:40 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 17th, '19, 09:14
Posts: 65
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Indianapolis
I don't think you're supposed to read from the side. I think you're supposed to take caps off and read from above.

At least that's how my sera test kit works, and it has the same style of test tubes and comparison cards


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 12th, '19, 01:56 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: May 17th, '19, 09:14
Posts: 65
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Indianapolis
Take a look at this link:

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1543& ... EcF87VwlwM:

I did find the manual online and attached it as well. It states to read from above.


Attachments:
prodac.PNG
prodac.PNG [ 143.47 KiB | Viewed 364 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 12th, '19, 01:57 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 16th, '19, 05:59
Posts: 16
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Portugal - Braga
Ah.. ok. I will try that and see if values are different. Thks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 12th, '19, 07:45 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Dec 1st, '18, 23:55
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Location: UK
Ricardo_G wrote:
1. I change all the water in fish tank but still remains a little in the growing bed.. maybe 5% or less.

After a "95%" water exchange your Ammonia went up & PH jumped from 6.4 to 8 :shock:

Ricardo_G wrote:
So now what is expect is to lower the nitrates and up the nitrites, right?

No,lower Nitrites hopefully.Nitrate is the good one.

Ricardo_G wrote:
Can I had some plants to help the process?

Yes,put them in so they can absorb the Nitrates.

Do what montecarlo said with the test & test your tap water straight out of the tap,that may help to rule out if that is what's causing your high Nitrate.

What's the water temperature of the tank water?

_________________
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 13th, '19, 05:07 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 16th, '19, 05:59
Posts: 16
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Portugal - Braga
I still haven't time to make tests again but I can say that the water temperature its between 14º (at night) and 18º (by day). I put some plants in the grow bed and some in the fish tank (lemnias and Eichhornia) I read that they help to drop ammonia. I will make those readers again, but.. If I understand well, must do the amonia test directly in the tap that comes from fish tank, not from the water in the fish tank? Sorry, i didn't understand well that part.. thks for help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jun 16th, '19, 00:45 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 16th, '19, 05:59
Posts: 16
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Portugal - Braga
Hello again!

I´v been away for some days because I was make an update to my system, a decanter and a sump. Because of that I put more water in the system and I obtain this values:

Amonia 1ml
NO3 - 50mg
NO2 - 0,05 mg
PH - 6.7

Now I put 2 fishs (golden fish) and some plants in the grow bed. Lets see what happens!


Attachments:
índice.jpg
índice.jpg [ 21.52 KiB | Viewed 237 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.057s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]