All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Jun 8th, '21, 11:41 

Are you human?: YES
I’m a beginner in aquaponics, and have a 10 gallon indoor tank. I haven’t gotten fish yet because I’m working on the fishless cycle, the nitrite and ammonia are low now, but nitrate is between 80ppm-160ppm. Definitely can not get fish with that. I performed a water change and took out about 25-50% of the water but it barely seemed to help. Do I need to clean my under gravel filter? What can I do to bring nitrate down? A second question I had is how much air should I allow to flow into my tank? I have a two way check value attached to my air pump and I’m not sure how much air to allow by turning the little knob.

Advertisement

PostPosted: Jun 11th, '21, 23:49 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Areation problem... dont worry about that too much indoors or with cool waters. So when the water returns to your tank, that disturbance enhances gass exchange. I do airrate my tanks but am only concerned about that in my filters (enhanced aerobic environment) and main tank on warm days. Warm water holds less oxygen than cool. Air pumps dont inject exygen into the water, the broken surface tension enhances gass exchange.

Depending on system setup. You may need an airpump. Water is pulled from my sump and sent to the main tank and grow bed. The water going into main tank is more than enough for cool weather. But i am stocked dense and its starting to get hot outside. So I turned my air pumps on. Watch your fish they will tell you. If they are on the botttom of tank, all is well. They hang at the surface seemingly gulping for air... air rate the tank.