All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 07:05 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
When I tested the siphon, it wasn't starting up or it started for a bit and stopped. The stand pipe is 2 inches, the bell is 4 inches and the pipe going out has one 90 degree turn. I did try a three inch and it was the same result.

Links to photos: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1sVB ... 2gwcjlWS3c
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1sVB ... kw3YXhCWjQ

What did I do wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 07:43 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: Jan 6th, '15, 06:49
Posts: 677
Gender: Male
Are you human?: usually
Location: Santee, CA USA
Hmm, bell siphons can be a pain. IMHO your pipe is way too large, especially for the short drop. It will be hard to get a siphon going with that. I recommend trying a 3/4" standpipe with a bell shaped "reducer" (3/4 x 1 or so) at the top to enlarge the opening. Then use a 2" bell.

Search the Afnan siphon on youtube and you'll get some good ideas.

_________________
800 gal sys 2016
IBC sand-ponics system 2021, 3 IBC GBs

9 kW Solar Electric 2011 - Upgraded to 12 kW 2019

"Aquaponics...solar-powered nanotechnology that produces fresh vegetables and meat, while purifying water..." - Rick Op, Houston Texas.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 07:46 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3450
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
Oh look! another 'my bell syphon wont work' thread ;)

If you are using a timer, you don't need a syphon. Use a stand pipe with a small drain hole near the bottom.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 08:25 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
I am going to use a timer and solar panels for it. Now with that, any photos of the method? Also, I don't really want to drill any holes into said IBC tote. And that I am on a tight budget so I need to find ways to do this while having enough for solar panels.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 08:54 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member

Joined: Jun 9th, '16, 14:53
Posts: 657
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Mexico Nuevo, USA
Put the plug back in (where you installed the male pvc adapters). You might be lucky and have pipe threads there and and can install a male adapter (thread/slip), feed the threaded part throught the cap and afix a female adapter (thread/slip) on the other end.

You'll have both slip connectors for your stand pipe and to join piping to drain back to sump.

If you need a picture, I can show intent because I did this on my ibc grow bed.

Adam


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 08:59 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
I do need a picture for that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 09:19 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3450
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
You don't need to drill any holes in the IBCs for stand pipes, the holes are in the bottom of the pipe, ie near the bottom of the GB, so that the water can drain out to empty the GB. It's just a pipe standing vertically over the drain in the GB, with a hole (I use 2 X 8mm) near the bottom, and another hole (or the cut off top of the pipe) at the desired water height in the GB.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 09:40 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
For the constant flood/timer, how does water get out of the ibc growbed (is the pipe tall or short)? Could red wigglers be introduced into the siphon? I do need a photo of the pipe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 10:20 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Mar 9th, '13, 10:44
Posts: 3450
Location: Loomberah NSW
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Im a force of nature
Location: I'm right here
The pipe is the height equal to the depth of the media plus a bit more, with a guard around it to keep the media out. The water gets out through the previously mentioned hole drilled through the side near the bottom.
I don't have a photo, but it is just a pipe with hole drilled through the wall near the bottom.
I'm not sure why you would want worms in your syphon. I have lots of worms in my GBs and ST, which have passed through my standpipes.

_________________
My small AP system: http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16345
Larger 2nd system: http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=24153
Solar powered Gunagulla Organic Garden
Fruit +Loomberah Wx
http://gunagulla.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 10:24 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
I mean worms in my growbed. I am a little frustrated in how the bell siphon wasn't functioning along with how the rest of the system is going out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 10:45 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 20th, '16, 15:56
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Torrance, CA
i think the standpipe is too short for that width of a pipe. You'll need a reducer on top and it'll solve your problems. I also put another 90 at the end of the 3 inch and point it slightly upwards,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 22:06 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Aug 10th, '15, 00:28
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Morro Bay,Ca.
use 45's instead of 90's. smoother flow


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 28th, '16, 22:36 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Jul 6th, '14, 20:25
Posts: 3850
Location: 2.2 kilometers up, NM, USA
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Series of particles
Location: Sapello, New Mexico USA
I built my first bell siphon in a bucket so I could see how it works.
Attachment:
Random-Bell-siphon-off-Internet.jpg
Random-Bell-siphon-off-Internet.jpg [ 45.33 KiB | Viewed 7738 times ]

_________________
:wave1: Brian's AP

Hard Specs: 2600 gallon Masonry fish pond. Everything else in flux.
My life's Oxymoron: Retired workaholic :headbang: :support: :notworthy: :shifty:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 29th, '16, 03:27 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Aug 26th, '10, 07:17
Posts: 9103
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Oregon, USA
Way back when I was doing siphons the one on the left was better and I think it probably still is but there's probably not a whole lot of difference. I'm not sure I follow the reasoning on the captions :think: - If the same volume of water is going over the lip then there should be no difference. If more volume goes over the one on the left then it can start with less flow but will handle the same maximum flow since they're the same size - so it has a wider range that it can operate over :dontknow: . You'd probably get better (faster - hard to explain but basically it's focused on a smaller area near the pipe) suction along the bottom from the siphon on the right but that's only good if you're trying to remove the solids.

I don't use siphons anymore and you don't need them as Gordon (Gunagulla) mentioned :headbang:. When I did use siphons I used the Affnan version of a bell siphon - like the one on the left - and they worked very well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Dec 29th, '16, 06:43 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Nov 1st, '16, 12:21
Posts: 46
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, United STates
My local home depot does not have a reducer (3 inch by 2 inch). Any places where to get one. And with the timer, is it possible to have the system only run for a few times a day and not run at night?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.066s | 23 Queries | GZIP : Off ]