All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Oct 19th, '21, 04:15 

Are you human?: YES
Hi! I have been operating my aquaponics system for the past five years, but this summer I have had a problem with my fish dying that I have not been able to solve. My system has three 64 square ft grow beds and a 300 gallon fish tank. I removed one of the beds in January of this year so that I could rebuild that bed, and ran the system with just the two other beds.  I pumped out the water into a separate Rubbermade cattle trough and an old bathtub while I was rebuilding.  I finally finished the rebuild and pumped the water back into the new bed, and connected it back to the system in June.  I realize this was a huge mistake because that water had been sitting in the trough and bathtub stagnant and growing bad bacteria for 6 months.  My tilapia were already sickly when I was running the system with just the two beds, perhaps due to low water quality as some of my air pumps were out and I hardly had any plants in the system during the spring while I was busy with schoolwork.  After I added the third bed back in and fixed all the air pumps, I put in 5 lbs. of new tilapia.  They all died within a couple weeks except for one.  That's when I realized the water was bad due to sitting for 6 months.  I treated the entire system (1500 gallons of water) with 2.5 quarts of bleach.  Then after nine days, I put in young plants and 5 more lbs. of tilapia, but the tilapia again all died within a few weeks.  While this second batch was sick, the guy at the aquaponics store said to add innoculant bacteria, add 1.5 cups of sea salt (SEA - 90) once a week for 2 weeks then less regularly, and to mince fresh garlic and feed it to the fish before their regular feed.  I did all that.  They didn't seem to eat much garlic, but it seemed like they died a little slower, maybe due to the salt or good bacteria? Four to six weeks after treating with bleach, I emptied out the water from the entire system (although